AAAAAAAGH! Another pregnancy announcement!

I have an announcement to make…

It had to bloody happen, didn’t it? It’s summertime, which means hayfever season and EVERYONE ELSE IN THE WORLD IS PREGNANT.

I’m not pregnant. I’m just… blobby. I’m actually turning into Jabba the Hutt. I’m not even going to dignify that with a picture, because it’s actually Jabba the Hutt with swollen breasts, greasy hair, skin breakouts and a load of stomach bruising which in combination is I’m not pregnant.

Anyway, so it turns out that all the weddings we attended in the last year resulted in an easy quick-as-you-like-it pregnancy. The first one – my extremely self-satisfied everything-comes-easy friend: pregnant on honeymoon. The second one: another honeymoon baby. And now, the ones who’ve been trying to “catch up” with us for a while (cue announcement – I mean, when does anyone make efforts to catch up otherwise?): ANOTHER BLOODY PREGNANCY.

I’m happy for them. I really am. Well… that and fuming. Because for every super-pleased-with-themselves friend who gets knocked up on honeymoon, there’s me:

Yes: during my long spell of infertility (= my life) I’ve actually managed to get into a long term relationship, cohabit, get engaged, get married, get separated, do a lot of silly things, get into another relationship, cohabit… and decide to try for a baby. That whole thing spans over a decade and doesn’t even count the decade before that where I was mainly growing up and trying to find out my way in life. And now we’re on the lovely not-at-all-guaranteed IVF journey and I’m feeling pretty sorry for myself. In a ranty way. (Btw this is just a vent. I’m always nice to pregnant friends. I even buy thoughtful gifts and feign an interest in their pregnancies when really I just want to scream it’s not fair!!!)

During just one year the number of babies that have popped out (on Facebook mainly) are enough to build my own little army of babies. (They wouldn’t do anything. So probably not that effective as an army.)

This is how I feel. It’s like everyone who even sneezes gets pregnant. Today’s announcement = the last straw. I even was invited to the meet up “catch up” but I knew there was likely going to be a pregnancy announcement so I avoided it. Typical. If only pregnancy were catching, I’d have about a hundred babies by now.

So here’s what I think…

14 comments

  1. theskyandback

    Oh man, I feel you. That was my February. EVERYONE was effing announcing their pregnancies in February, which is when I would’ve been announcing mine, too, if I didn’t miscarry. I hope “announcement season” dies down for you soon! Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Ahh, you’ve really been through the wringer. Sending you hugs! It’s so annoying isn’t it… I just knew it was coming and I couldn’t be bothered to put on my happy face. Bad N!

      Like

  2. My Perfect Breakdown

    I hear you!! Clearly pregnancy is not contagious!! I figure I need about another 5 years before pregnancy season will start to dwindle. Yes, I assume about 5 years because everyone popping out their first kid right now will presumably have 1 or 2 more before their families are complete. Happy for them, yet so insanely frustrated that it will never be for us!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      I know! It’s just soooo frustrating – always the bridesmaid, never the bride! And I’m actually okay at being happy for them – I think the excitement’s contagious, even if pregnancy isn’t. I even held a baby last week and sat with him on my lap for ages. I don’t hate babies. (A lot of my friends think I do.) I just don’t want to have to confront my infertility all the time.

      If it’s all done in 5 years I’ll be happy! Unfortunately my friends just keep on popping! I’m going to make friends only with 60 year olds from now on! 🙂

      Like

  3. thecommonostrich

    Word.

    Oddly, I’m still not comfortable with pregnancy announcements, even though I did eventually get pregnant. I’m not sure that particular sting every goes away. (Wow, that sounds depressing and yet thems the facts. For me anyway.)

    I got pretty good at the idea of “holding both.” I can be both happy for them and completely destroyed for myself. These two seemingly conflicting emotions can live in an ecosystem, I swear.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Nara

      So well put! I can be happy for them too. It was just a vent really. Me saying “I knew it, dagnammit!” (as I kept telling T that it was definitely going to be a pregnancy announcement – he texted me and said she looked fat, haha).

      I know people want to tell people but I think sometimes they just don’t think… Why should they, you might say. I dunno. Sometimes it feels like they’re rubbing it in my face! (I’ve been in 2 serious relationships during the time most of my friends have known me and it never seems to occur to them that there’s a reason I don have children. They think it’s because I hate kids.)

      Like

      • ashleykyleanderson

        Yes! I have a whole folder of them on my laptop and there are some days when I just want to passive-aggressively post them to fb or something. There are so many good ones about people announcing pregnancy! I mean, I know I’d regret it but for about 3 seconds it would feel really good!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Nara

        Haha! Goodnight! 06:30 here and I was working till 00:30 so a bit tired – on way to work. Night night!

        Like

    • Nara

      Ah, you’re right. I don’t buy gifts for everyone, but I feel like it’s not my friends’ fault that they’re fertile and I’m not! It is definitely hard sometimes though. There’s one particular one I’ve been avoiding and I think it’s because I’m just so snarky about her. She just gets everything she wants! But really that’s not her fault, right. Doesn’t stop me from acting like a petulant child though!

      Liked by 1 person

Tell us your thoughts...

