Day 35: Thunderbirds are go!

 5… 4… 3… 2… 1…

So I have a bit of an update and it’s rather exciting. 

My stubborn lazy follicles finally decided to get to the magic 18! And who was there to announce it but Dr Fit! It must be fate…

Hilariously he also decided to make a film recommendation whilst performing my TV scan, leading me to utter the immortal words, “Just what was it that made you think of a gay rights film whilst staring up my v-gina?”

You can only laugh…

Anyway, it turns out that the super mega dose of Gonal F finally spurred my lazy ol’ ovaries into action. I had something like 5 follicles at the magic 18 (what? I have no idea of the unit of measurement) and so this means I’m booked in for egg harvesting tomorrow!

How exciting is that?

I was really beginning to despair, I tell you. I mentioned yesterday how I have morphed into Jabba the Hutt so you’ll excuse me if I breathe a sigh of relief.

Sigh. 

This means: I’ll either get pregnant (first choice) or I’ll at least be able to come off these drugs (second choice but very welcome). I don’t know how long I can take the humungaboobs and the giant slug like body. 

In other news I’ve been working like the proverbial dog, apart from I have one of them and I have to confess he’s not in gainful employment and appears to live the life of Riley. I mean his sole purpose seems to be to look cute, cuddle things, lick things and run around looking for food. In fact his sole purpose is food. Anything else is merely a way of trying to get food.

So anyway my current project is absolutely manic. Usually I would relish this but I have to say that I’ve never had something quite so challenging. It’s too depressing to go into but it involves working 18 hour days with very little sleep and very little (ie no) thanks. I had to get special dispensation to not go into the office tomorrow. And I know they’re going to get arsey about it. 😦 

The thing I’m most looking forward to is sedation! This means I get to relax and sleep! Granted with someone poking about in my v-gina, but beggars can’t be choosers, eh!

And this means I’ll probably have to work over the weekend but… a day without the most awkward man in the world! That’s something to be thankful for!

I can’t really separate my symptoms from my work related tiredness right now so I won’t try. Suffice to say I’m extremely tired. 

On the plus side I was very indulgent and went out and bought some makeup. More out of necessity than for the fun of it – I’ve realised I’m now looking pretty awful so need to mitigate it in some way. I got some Smashbox stuff on the spur of the moment. Never used it before but they promise great things! It’s nice to see my skin looking slightly more soft focus because let me tell you, the office lights aren’t kind to people of my advanced age.

Anyway last night I took the trigger injection. I didn’t take a picture as quite frankly you don’t want to lose your lunch over mah belleh rolls and also it’s pretty much the same as Gonal F. The super convenient pen. Also it’s pretty much foolproof as there’s only one dose. You have to take it exactly 36 hours before you get The Harvest (sounds like a pumpkin or something, harvest festival). I don’t know how they’re so sure it will react the same for everyone seeing as my ovaries weren’t very cooperative with the Gonal F. 

So now I just need to relax. A lovely day off work! This almost more exciting than the prospect of some doctor yahooing up my doodah. (They don’t really yodel or anything but I always picture them doing some sort of echo test.)

For some reason going to the doctor’s surgery brings me out in fits of giggles. I mean, it is fairly comical, the whole process. I’m wondering what kind of environment T will have to do to donate his “submission”. Do they have a special w–k room? Is it full of La Z Boy recliners and posters of ladies with their baps out? Or do they just have to sit in a clinic till they can spunk the junk?
I guess we’ll find out tomorrow… 

🙂

12 comments

  1. Terrakna - She of Advanced Maternal Age

    1) Your description of a dog is spot on. Thanks for the grin.
    2) The w_nk room, according to DH, is mentally vile. You know what other men have been doing while touching those, um, materials. Plus, everyone knows what you were doing when you come out.
    3) Awwww. Poor baby. Take mega doses of hormones for 2 weeks and carry around 2 plums in your belly. I’ll take the vile room.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Arwen

    GOOD LUCK! That’s so exciting, go lazy follies!!
    The w*nk room at our clinic was pretty sterile but made hubs laugh cos the seat was wipe-clean pleather and the “materials” were laminated….EEEEEWWWW!!!!! HAHAHA!!
    Well done you on not cracking under the work pressure on top of IVF. I so nearly lost it during both of mine. You are a superhero!
    Much luck for the harvest and fertilisation party 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Thanks so much! I feel so sorry for T having to go for a hoohah in that environment! It sounds way worse than what I have to do. (Lie down, legs akimbo and have a little rest!)
      I think I am probably cracking under the work pressure… This day of sedation has come at exactly the right time! Answering no calls and checking no emails from work today! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Tell us your thoughts...

