I should totally change the about me bit

Hello!

I started this blog in a sort of anonymous way, a way of dealing with the whole infertility and IVF process. And I’ve “met” a whole lot of interesting people who are going through similar yet different things. It’s been a comfort to me even though I haven’t been doing this very long… I feel like I can actually discuss it here in a safe space – rather than with all my friends who have babies or think that I’m just too busy being a career woman to try.

One thing I’ve noticed is that people put a lot more on the About Me section than I have done! I think it was because I was trying to be a bit more anonymous (I’m paranoid about my work finding out – they’re about as child/woman friendly as, well… They’re not). And as it turns out I recently discovered that my ex husband is a rather prolific blogger. There’s no reason he would come across my blog as he doesn’t blog about infertility (his blog is actually really lovely but I don’t want to link to it for obvious reasons). So forgive me if I’ve maintained a little bit of anonymity. I’m not at all anonymous in other parts of the web so I guess I’m worried that it will put me “out there”, infertility and all! I don’t think I’m ready for that yet.

The thing is, people’s About Me sections have really made me want to find out more about them. So I think maybe that section is a bit more important in engaging with the community than I first thought! (I’m brand new to blogging, so I don’t know these things!) And I’ve really appreciated people who’ve put themselves “out there” and shared their experiences. I think there’s something really valuable in that. Being able to open up and talk about these experiences and feelings as been a real comfort to me. I guess I usually don’t define myself by infertility so I’m still getting used to that label and this IVF experience. 

Anyway, I’m currently laid up very lazily due to the egg harvesting a few days ago, but as soon as I’m feeling better I will make attempts to update my About Me section!

2 comments

    • Nara

      Hahaha you are so funny! 🙂
      It’s true though… I’d only have to say a few things and I’d be instantly recognisable. I think I already am – it’s just that most people who’ve previously interacted with me online have done so in different realms (eg sporting). So hopefully they won’t stumble across this. Not sure I’m ready for all my legs-akimbo infertility adventures to be too associated… I’m not ashamed but it’s the same reason why I don’t want my friend (a beautician) to give me a bikini wax! Too intimate! 🙂

      Like

Tell us your thoughts...

