Liebster award!

Thank you to the awesome The Great Pudding Club Hunt for the nomination. (Aww, shucks.) I love Dani’s blog – she used to live in the UK and now she lives in the US which is what I aspire to do one day! If you’re not following her yet, you should!

About the Liebster Award: It is given to up and coming bloggers who have less fewer* than 200 followers. The meaning Liebster is German and means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome. Liebster was created to discover new bloggers and welcome them to the blogosphere.

(*Annoying English thing! 🙂 )

Rules:

Once you are nominated, make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you. Include the Liebster Award sticker in the post too. (I picked a new one just for the fun of changing the layout – get me!)

Nominate 5-10 other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award. Let them know they have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts. You can also nominate the person who nominated you.

Ensure all these bloggers have less than 200 followers.

Answer the eleven questions asked to you by the person who nominated you, and make eleven questions of your own or your nominees or you may use the same questions. Lastly, COPY these rules in the post.

My nominations:

Caveat: I haven’t figured out a way to see how many followers someone has, unless they’ve listed it somewhere on their blog. If you know, please enlighten me! I’m fairly new to this blogging malarkey so all the people I am nominating are fairly new to me! I’m leaving out obvious bloggers who probably have millions of followers, or have already been nominated, so please don’t consider it a personal slight if you’re not listed – if I follow you, I think you’re great! Plus check out the other great nominees on Dani’s Liebster post here.

Baby Science Project: https://babyscienceproject.wordpress.com

BSP is great. I mean, I like science, and I want to have a baby… Read BSP for more information on how! (Plus: We are the same age, we live in London, and we seem to be following similar experiences with IVF and being “slow responders” (ugh!) although she is way further down the route than I am.) I like finding out a lot more about what to expect, because when I started out on this journey, I had no clue what to expect.

 

The owl and the empty nest: https://libraryowl33.wordpress.com

I can really relate to the owl as we were both adopted as children and are now (ironically?!) struggling with infertility. We seem to be on a similar journey although she’s a bit further along than I am – into IVF #2. When we first started doing IVF it was really encouraging to me to find others who were going through something similar. And of course, I like to think that she is actually an owl!

Try Try Again: https://trytryagainblog.wordpress.com/

As a fellow Brit, I really enjoy reading TTA’s blog as we have similar experiences that I can relate to when it comes to the NHS and fertility treatment in the UK. It’s also a lot more educational than my blog will ever be as she navigates some fairly interesting stuff around reproductive immunology! I feel like I’m rooting for a fellow team member. Plus I love the outlook of just keeping on trying… That’s what we’re doing!

In pursuit of a family: https://inpursuitofafamily.wordpress.com

Ashley is one of the sweetest, nicest people out there, and usually indulges me in my Americophile ramblings. With her husband Kyle she’s soon going to be a mum! I love reading her blog and sharing her ups, downs and the excitement around their baby boy Sweet Pea who is going to be born in a few months with the help of their gestational carrier Elle.

Our egg, her nest?: http://mymrkhandhostsurrogacy.wordpress.com/

Arwen is hilarious, and as a fellow Brit I can really relate to her brand of offbeat wit (okay, sarcasm and a bit of potty mouth thrown in!). Arwen and Dax are going to be parents VERY soon as their little Stevie is all the way into the third trimester with the help of SSIL (surrogate sister in law). I laugh a lot when I read Arwen’s posts.

There are lots of other brilliant bloggers out there and I recommend that if you’re looking for interesting people to follow, you scroll down to the bottom of my blog where you’ll see the last 50 people I followed. They are all great!

 

The questions I’ve been given:

1) If a genie came along and offered you one wish to become what you ever you like to be and you were given all the relevant knowledge, training and qualifications tomorrow, what career would you choose?

This is easy! I’d have done a medical degree and I’d be a neurosurgeon. I wish I had done something more visceral and creative (and in a strange way, I think surgery is both) and useful (because I sometimes feel like we aren’t contributing much to the world by sitting in our ivory towers offices). I wish I had taken different subjects at school so I could have done a medical degree, and I wish I could have had the foresight not to be fazed by such a long degree when I was younger. I still enjoyed what I did a lot, but it didn’t lead to a career in that field and I did it for the love of the subject, which I still enjoy. Whilst I now have a vaguely glamorous sounding career, I get personal fulfilment outside of the office… and I wish I could have that as part of my day job, rather than in spite of it.

2) What is your favourite colour and why?

If you saw how I dress most of the time, you’d probably think it was black. But black is not a colour, smarty pants! (Artistically people always say it’s the absence of colour.) I think I wear black a lot because it’s easy and doesn’t require matching, which I don’t have time for first thing in the morning. I love red and I love blue. And obviously red and blue are the colours of the American flag, and I’m the biggest Americophile out there! (Yeah, they’re on the union jack too.) I am pretty much a red and blue girl – though red possibly pips blue to the post. Why do I like it? Because it’s happy, and passionate… It’s the colour of love.

3) What is your party trick?

I can’t believe I’m saying this but I can put my legs behind my head. I’m quite double jointed although now I’m getting to be an old crone, I’m less flexible than I used to be. Other than that, at an actual party I’m afraid I can’t juggle or do anything exciting or interesting, but I am pretty good at baking, so I’d bring a cake or something. Tah-dah!

4) What is your favourite hobby?

I’m one of those people who has lots of hobbies that last about a day. I am seriously ADHD-like in that I am always flitting around different interests. The most persistent hobby has been reading. I adore reading. It’s not even a conscious thing… I just read all the time. I can’t stand not being able to read. Even when I’m watching tv, I’m still reading something. Other than that, I love to sleep – ha! I like lying in a hammock or on a sunbed and dozing in the sun. And my most “hobbyish” hobby for the past years has been baking. If you mail me, I’ll send you a link to my baking page.

5) If I gave you a plane ticket to anywhere – where would you go?

Easy! The USA! 🙂 Although if it was one plane ticket, I’d probably go to the country where my sibling is. We don’t get to see each other very often as it’s a long way away, so if it was a free ticket then that would be the best use of the ticket. (We’re planning to visit but it requires a longish trip and big budget, so maybe next year.) Other than that I’d probably pick somewhere really exotic and far away that I’m not likely to go to for budgetary reasons (I’ll always find the budget for the USA!) so maybe somewhere like Fiji or Mauritius.

6) What is your favourite film?

It’s a toss up between Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Life is Beautiful, The English Patient, Love Actually, The Shawshank Redemption, Cast Away. Yeah, I’m not good at prioritising. The one I’ve seen the most is Love Actually (most Christmases) or The Shawshank Redemption (always on TV). I love Cast Away. I love Tom Hanks… He’s in such good films. Big!

7) What helps you get out of a funk?

Reading (switching off – out of this world and into another), chocolate (and/or pizza), hugs and dog licks. Dog licks (from my dog, not a random dog) are magical and can heal all ills. If I didn’t love Dog so much I’d have to pimp him out to depressed people so he could go around spreading joy.

8) If you could write a letter now to your past teenage self – what piece of advice would you give to yourself?

It gets better.

I would actually write a lot – knowing the teenage me, I’d be interested to know how I turned out. I want to tell her to stand up for herself more. And not to push people away who are trying to help. And to study for a medical degree!

9) If you could only eat one type of food for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Pizza! You can pretty much cover everything with pizza… You can even get sweet pizzas!

10) What three things would you take to a desert island with you?

Easy: T, Dog, and a survival kit (blade, lighter, water purifier, the address of the nearest hotel and a satellite phone to call them to pick us up!).

 

The questions for those I nominate are:

  1. What is your earliest memory?
  2. What made you start blogging?
  3. What’s your idea of a perfect day?
  4. What is your signature dish? (Provide photo and recipe!)
  5. If you were an animal, what would you be and why?
  6. Where is the most beautiful place you’ve ever been?
  7. Where would you really love to visit? (And why haven’t you been yet? Book that ticket!)
  8. What’s the most useful thing that your mum or dad taught you?
  9. What’s your favourite book and why? (I know, it’s like being asked to pick your favourite child!)
  10. What would you want to be remembered for?
  11. Where are you right now? (Describe it or add a photo!)

 

Hope you enjoyed this and look forward to reading your answers! 🙂

13 comments

    • Nara

      Hahaha I don’t think I would be very good at that. But it’s really fun. I finally fulfilled a lifetime ambition to go and see them last year! 🙂

      Like

Tell us your thoughts...

