If life gives you lemons… Get some chocolate and make brownies

Sometimes, bad things happen to good people. And sometimes, life gives you lemons. Now, I figure I’ll leave the lemonade to the pros, because for me, it’s all about chocolate. 

I have found over time that there’s one recipe that’s guaranteed to cheer people up.  It cheers me up to make something for others, and it cheers them up to receive. (As a wise person once said, it’s better to give than receive, and I generally believe that! I love giving!)

The funny thing is, it’s super easy and uses cheap ingredients, and somehow magically turns into something luxurious and decadent. 

So here it is: My top secret brownie recipe. 

Before you start: You’ll need to prepare a tin. You can use a square tin or a rectangular one. Cut two pieces of grease proof paper to fit each way. That’s all there is to it.    

Step 1: Melt 1 pack butter (in the UK this is 250g; you’ll need more in the US). You can use 300g but our butter comes in 250g packs so I find it works fine with that amount. Also melt 300g plain (dark) chocolate at the same time. I use the super cheap chocolate from the supermarket. You can use expensive stuff if you want, but it’s really not necessary! You can do this in the microwave if you have one (I don’t so I do it in a pan. You can use a Bain Marie too, but ain’t nobody got time for that!) Remove from the heat. 

Step 2: Break 5 free range eggs into a large bowl. I only use free range eggs because I want happy brownies!    

Step 3: Measure out 450g caster sugar. You can use normal granulated sugar too if you prefer. 

Step 4: Add a generous splash of vanilla essence and mix it all together. 

  
Step 5: Pour in the chocolate mixture. Mix it all up. 

  

Step 6: Add in 200g plain flour. Stir it together. 

Step 7: Add in your extras. I like to add 100g chopped white chocolate and a handful of cocoa nibs. You can add anything you want!  

Step 8: Pour into your tin and bake in a preheated oven at around gas mark 5-6 and 160 C. My oven is pretty bad so it needs to be this heat. In a modern oven you can probably drop it to be cooler. Keep checking the brownies after 45min. You may need to cook them up to an hour or even more depending on your oven. When you take them out they should be done on top but still have a slight wobble.   
  

When they’ve cooled, cut them into pieces and give them to people you like! I also like to brush them with gold dust to give them a little extra happiness. 

And there you have it… How to spread a bit of chocolate happiness in 8 easy steps. 

🙂

4 comments

Tell us your thoughts...

