Unexpected side effects

It’s the middle of the night here and I woke up with a really sore shoulder. At first I thought it was my normal shoulder ache – I have one that dislocates very easily. Then I recalled something about post op shoulder pain. A quick Google tells me that it’s apparently very common to get shoulder pain after surgery where they have used CO2 to inflate your abdomen. 

I’ve no idea whether they used it or not. It wasn’t laparoscopic this time – they went in through the existing channel (haha, my BFF laughed her head off when I told her that). The upside is that I don’t have any more scars. I’ve had laparoscopic (keyhole) surgery twice for endometriosis so I have one scar on my belly button and two scars in my side around near my hips. They take longer to heal than a no cut surgery so I am happy about that. 

My shoulder kills though! I have done some Amazon shopping and I’m going to read my latest Tess Gerritsen novel on the kindle. Very gory crime novel with two leading ladies… Love it! I had been holding off buying the last one but I bought it when I was in for my surgery on Saturday as I knew I’d have a load of waiting. I’m about halfway through but haven’t really been concentrating as I’ve just been taking it easy. Now is as good a time as any. 

22 comments

  1. riddle4life

    Try peppermint herbal tea. It helps in getting the gas out of body. It also helps if you try to walk a little bit when you encounter the shoulder pain. You will feel better after a day or two.

    Like

    • Nara

      Jeepers Courtney, you’ve had a lot of surgeries! I was in absolute agony and I didn’t even have any cuts! I ended up in A&E and they gave me morphine for the pain. I was actually crying with the pain… It was never that bad with the laparoscopies or the egg retrieval.

      Like

      • Courtney

        Surgeries add up once you go down the C-section route and have a couple of kids. HA! Just read your latest – I’m glad the ER knew what to do with you. When I went in to the ER after egg retrieval, they insisted that type of surgery couldn’t cause this and seemed perplexed. I would have killed for some morphine!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Nara

        Well it took a good while before I got any morphine… I was crying in the room for ages before that happened. They see you quite quickly but they don’t give you pain relief for a while! I think I had the morphine around 07:30 and that was about an hour after we’d got there!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Thank you! I never really thought it would be that bad. I’d heard that you might get it (Dr Google) but it just got so bad that I was crying with the pain. It was awful!

      Like

      • countyourselfunlucky

        sorry to hear you were crying with pain, that’s bad. When I had my first laparoscopy the pain was really bad I could barely walk upright so I know what you mean. Hope you’re starting to feel better now.

        Like

    • Nara

      They never warned me! They didn’t even tell me to take painkillers so I was completely unaware until it hit! Ended up in A&E on morphine. Awful! Glad I had the week off – when I first got home I felt like a fraud as I had no pain at all!

      Like

  2. notabroodychick

    I had that shoulder pain after an appendectomy. No one told me it might happen, and it was agony, so I feel your pain. It was only thanks to Dr google that I figured out what mine was.

    Like

    • Nara

      Wowzers. I’m amazed they don’t tell us. I told the nurse and they eventually said, yes, that could be a side effect… but nothing helped the pain until I got the morphine. Thank goodness for morphine!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Morphine dreams | From zero to zygote

Tell us your thoughts...

