Morphine dreams

Well, that escalated quickly. My last post talked about how I’d woken up in the middle of the night with shoulder pain. That shoulder pain turned into excruciating shoulder, stomach and chest pain, to the point that I woke up T at around 5am to tell him I was in pain. I’d already taken cocodamol (codeine and paracetamol) at 4am and then I rang the ward where I’d had my op and asked them what to do, and they said I could also take ibuprofen so I took that around 5am.

It didn’t improve and I was in absolute agony so they said go to A&E (Accident & Emergency / ER) so we got a taxi around 6am and went to our local hospital. It wasn’t where I had the surgery – that was in a private hospital over the other side of London and they didn’t open till 8am and I didn’t think I could last that long.

Fortunately A&E wasn’t busy although it still took a while to get seen. From the time we were in the taxi I’d been crying from the pain. It really was excruciating… worse than any of my other operations (I’ve had a few general anaesthetics including surgery and laparoscopies) – it was terrible. I was just begging someone to put me out of my misery. I was hoping they could give me a general anaesthetic or at least sedation so I could stop feeling the pain!

We are lucky we have the NHS… It feels like hours when you’re in pain, but at least I got seen within half an hour. They checked my heart and asked various questions and got me into a gown in a cubicle. I got blood taken and more importantly they gave me some morphine.

Well… It worked really quickly. I went from off the scale pain to a 4 or 5 out of 10 pain, like a low level pain that I could tolerate. All I can say is: Thank goodness for morphine.

Also during the bad time I was just thinking: I don’t think I am cut out for pain. Like seriously, do people give birth without painkillers? There may be an upside to infertility after all. (*Joke.) I would probably just pass out from the pain or ask to be knocked out.

That was Monday. It was a write off. Poor T was supposed to work from home to keep an eye on me but was so tired that I think he went to sleep around 8pm. I dozed most of the day. They said I had to keep taking painkillers on a regular rotation so I wouldn’t get sudden pain like that. So I spent most of yesterday (Tuesday) dosed up and lying around reading and sleeping.

Today the pain has eased a fair amount. I think it’s maybe because I have a lot of painkillers in my system – I’ve been taking them every 4 hours and I do think it helps. It makes me quite groggy though. I have some pain in my stomach, presumably where the fibroid was, but the chest pain and shoulder pain has gone. I’m hoping that’s a good sign.

We’re very much looking forward to our holiday – still a good few days before we fly so I have plenty of time to relax and get better. Thanks to everyone who sent get well wishes! Sorry to be such a wuss!

  
Lovely flowers from my friend (of The Last Cake fame)

33 comments

  1. stealingnectar

    That sounds horrendous! I am glad you are feeling better now but – wow – that must have been scary on top of just being ridiculously painful! The only time I have had morphine was giving birth to A.G. (since it couldn’t hurt him at that point…😢) and it didn’t help me at all. I think I received it too late. So funny joke about labor, and you do forget just how horrible it is, but I will say morphine couldn’t even help at the end! It will be worth the pain when you have your little one but – yes – in the meantime think how you get to avoid that for now! Those flowers are absolutely gorgeous. I was just wondering how you were feeling and then I read this. I hate that you had this happen! Be good to yourself! Xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Thanks m’dear! It really was nuts, the amount of pain. Honestly I’ve had a bunch of ops before and it has never been on that scale. It kind of makes me scared for other ops now because I’ve never had that before (and always had good pain relief) so I wasn’t expecting it at all!
      That sounds bad about AG’s labour… I can’t imagine how hard and how painful it must have been. I was thinking on Monday that I really would not cope with it at all. I do sort of joke and say I’d have an elective Caesarian, but I don’t think it’s such a joke!
      The flowers are really nice! There’s this company that I use a lot called Bloom & Wild and they send them flatpacked in a box that fits through your letterbox – it’s nifty! Although in the US do you have those letterboxes at the end of your drive? With the flag? Say you do! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • stealingnectar

        Wow! Beautiful site from first glance! And I lied…I don’t have a letterbox. I have a mailbox. I am an idiot. I thought that was your British way of saying mailbox. Maybe in bigger cities, like NYC, there are letterboxes though. 😬

        Like

      • Nara

        Hahahaha. What’s the difference between a letterbox and a mailbox? We have a slot in the front door that they put stuff through and it falls on the floor. But some people have external mailboxes… It’s much more common in the US from what I’ve noticed. When we were in Indiana everyone had those ones on poles like in Charlie Brown, with the flag! 🙂

        Like

      • stealingnectar

        Yes, I have a brick one that matches my house but it’s at the end of my driveway and is much closer to the Charlie Brown image than a proper English letterbox!

        Like

      • Nara

        Aww that’s awesome! I love the idea of going out to collect the post. Ours just gets put through the letterbox and then Dog starts barking his head off and sniffing it! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Thanks! Yeah it’s much more manageable now. I’m pretty much fine but dosing up on painkillers every few hours… It’s making me a bit dozy! 😉

      Like

    • Nara

      Haha. Feeling much better but really did feel awful on Monday! I’ve been resting up and I’m a lot better now. Dosing on painkillers helps! 🙂

      Like

  2. ourgreatestdesire

    That gas pain is the WORST! I had it after my first laparoscopy and I was in tears for the first couple days after my surgery. This time, I didn’t get it at all and I was sooooo Thankful! Hope you’re feeling better very soon!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Nara

      Thank you! I’m glad it wasn’t just me! I found it so odd I had to figure it out on my own. They never warned me and I never had it with the endo ops (laparoscopies) so I wasn’t expecting it. Agony!!! Thankfully I feel a ton better now!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      I know, right? I have some awesome friends! I just got another pressie in the post from another friend. Too lucky! (Or I am just good at picking friends!)
      I am in a lot less pain today… Thanks for the well wishes!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Surviving Infertility

    Horrible! Brings back memories…after my fibroid removal i was in excruciating pain like you…and i had also had several other surgeries that never came close to the pain this yielded. I hope you are in the clear now 🙏🏽

    Like

Tell us your thoughts...

