Reblog: The Hummingbird, Part Two.

This and part one are definitely worth a read. I’ve been trying to put into words how I feel about the attacks, their proximity, and the horror of interrupting everyday activities with violence and murder and hate. I’ve held my tongue (mostly) about my friends’ Facebook profile pictures turning red, white and blue as if that’s going to stem the horror… I feel hopeless in the face of this seeming anarchy, this ever-growing wave of hatred. And this, and the first part – this is something real and something tangible that goes some way towards answering the questions I have about how we can possibly do anything…
I want to be a hummingbird. I am doing whatever I can.  Yesterday, I wrote this piece, about a small hummingbird dropping a single drop of water onto a fire, one drop at a time. It’s a metaphor about injustice and fear, written in response to the terrorist activities in Paris and Lebanon. It’s about […]

http://iambeggingmymothernottoreadthisblog.com/2015/11/16/the-hummingbird-part-two/

2 comments

Tell us your thoughts...

