Catching up

Wowzers, it’s been a bit of a week!

Firstly, we went on our annual trip to Disneyland Paris! It’s our pre Christmas tradition (yes, I know we were just back from Orlando – what can I say?!) and it’s always a fun way to get into the Christmas spirit. We have already done all our decorations and our tree has been up since November – this is the kind of kickoff into the Christmas season!

As you’re probably aware, there were recently some terrorist attacks in Paris so we weren’t sure what to expect. Also we went during the week as we thought it would be less crowded and it really was – maybe a combination of the two things but we hardly had to wait for any rides. I think that Disney always feels like another protected world, separate from the real world. It is the perfect place to escape to. We had a really lovely time getting into the Christmas spirit, having mulled wine and nice food! And Dog went to stay with our friends who absolutely adore him so that was great! I always feel bad he can’t come but I think he spent the time being spoiled!

Here are some pics…

   
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
All in all, we had a lovely trip. We also spent a day shopping and went to the nearby outlet village which was great! I got a load of Christmas presents and also discovered they had Sephora… I was happy! There was some heightened security like we had to have our bags checked in the shopping centre and there were soldiers/police with guns (something we don’t really have in England apart from in airports) so that was noticeable, but other than that it was really just our normal trip. It was nice to get away for a bit. Everyone at work is getting into the Christmas spirit so that helps!

As luck would have it (not) I got my period whilst we were away. It was really awful and early so involved going around trying to find sanitary products – they do sell them at Disney but only in one shop and not to cope with really awful heavy flow. The doctor who did my fibroid op did say it might be worse. Man, it was pretty awful and the only reason I could cope with the pain (and shedloads of blood and clots) was that we were at the happiest place on earth. And the queues were short and there are lots of bathrooms! But not fun! I eventually managed to get some strong painkillers on the last day but ugh, I really don’t think they’re getting any better. 

That meant when I got back I had to go and get my bloods done for IVF and also the baseline scan. Which is a bit nasty when you’re still bleeding although it was tailing off by then. The really weird / concerning thing is that the ultrasound technician said it looked like I had a fibroid… right where is supposedly had the op to remove it?!?!? I don’t know. I called the surgeon and he said that there may be some left as he couldn’t get rid of all of it. I asked the tech what that meant and she said that it was up to the doctors to decide. But confusingly / frustratingly I’m just in this process where I have to wait for them to come back to me so I don’t know if they’ll look at the scan before or after the four month wait – we are on a waiting list for IVF round two so I’ve no idea when they look at it. My surgeon was private so it’s all a bit “He said, she said”. 

I’ve spoken with T about it and we are definitely up for some sort of private consultation but it’s figuring out who to go to and what to ask for. This whole thing is really confusing. Also we don’t want to jeopardise the cycles we are in. I doubt we can really do anything over Christmas anyway so I’ll just give it some thought. 

The sort of nice thing was that when I was in the waiting room for the scan, I got talking with another lady who was there for her first round of IVF. She was there with her mum and because we were the only ones in the waiting room we had a good chat. I was able to explain a load of stuff to them as I had already been through it at that hospital (like where the blood testing is, stuff like that, but also what to expect). We both felt like they don’t give you much info and you sort of find it out as you go along so she said it was nice to be able to ask someone. I told her I’d been blogging and found out a lot through this online community and she said she’d been looking at blogs too. It felt great to be slightly useful in this process! I guess I feel a lot of the time that it’s all outside of my control so it was nice to be able to answer her questions and hopefully put her mind at ease a bit. 

Other than that I ended up having another cake commission that needed to be done when we were back from Disney. I didn’t have much time at all to do this and had no prior experience. I just sort of think of things in my head and it is a challenge to try and make it a reality (in cake!). Anyway I was asked for a golden rhino… I rarely turn down a challenge! Even though I don’t always know how it will work out!

It really was one of the hardest cakes I ever had to make in terms of not knowing how to do it. Firstly I don’t do fondant or Sugarpaste usually so I had to make him out of buttercream. Secondly I wanted to make him 3D and not lying down or in a swamp or something as it felt like that would be cheating. Thirdly I couldn’t figure out how to remove the buttercream palette knife marks for a while and make the rhino skin. And fourthly I didn’t know how to do gold as I’ve never done gold icing before!

In terms of reception a lot of people seemed to like it a lot. Personally I felt a bit dissatisfied with him as I wanted him to be cuter. My other animals like the turkey are more smiley! And his legs were much chunkier than I wanted but I needed to make sure he would stay up and not collapse. I think I was kind of beating myself up a bit. But to be fair to myself, I only had one evening to ice and assemble and I was working late so only able to start after 21:30 so I did what I could! Actually T said he thought it was one of my best but I think he was trying to make me feel better! Anyway, the person who commissioned it was really happy with it so that was good. 

Happy golden rhino time and hope we all enjoy this pre-Christmas week!

  

24 comments

  1. My Perfect Breakdown

    I love the golden rhino!! Also I think it’s awesome that you made it to Paris Disney for your usual prechristmas trip. It looks like so much fun!
    I’m sorry to hear about the potential problems with the fibroid! I really hope you can get that sorted ASAP. Also, I think it is so kind of you to provide your time and knowledge to someone going through this for the first time. I am always impressed by your compassion for others.

    Like

    • Nara

      Ah thank you. I’m all about Disney! It’s the best! I mean it’s not real life but it’s good to escape for a while.
      Yeah the fibroid thing is very confusing. Not really sure what to do… I just don’t want to get to the top of the waiting list and then they say to get it sorted out. It’s very annoying!
      Oh it was nice to speak with someone about IVF really. I feel like I don’t really speak about it with anyone in real life. I think it’s quite cathartic to share experiences – she had had IUI but not IVF so was sort of familiar with some bits, but I was glad to tell her the injections aren’t bad at all. That was something I worried about before we started!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. RJ

    Wow Disney Paris?! That’s so awesome. I’ve only been to Disneyland in Southern California. Looks beautiful at Christmas time! And I love the rhino cake! I can’t believe it’s gold! So incredible.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Yeah. I’ve been to the California one but was a child at the time! A lot of people don’t like Paris as much as it’s French but I think it’s very nice. The castle is meant to be the most artistic! The weather isn’t as good but it is quite Christmassy and it is sooooo close to London – you can get a train all the way there!

      Like

  3. stealingnectar

    Okay, so first, your trip looked amazing! Second, your period and the chance of the remaining fibroid is beyond frustrating. I am pretty upset for you! After all of this, you should at least be fibroid free! I will be eager for an update on that when you know more. So frustrating. It was so wonderful you were able to talk to someone in the waiting room and help them out with what to expect. Third, I am in LOVE with your rhino cake! So creative and he (she?) looks very lively in the personality department! Amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Hahaha I’m glad you love Mr Rhino. I’m afraid his personality didn’t last long… He’s been eaten! 🙂
      Yeah I don’t understand what’s going on with the fibroid. It is frustrating! Hopefully will be able to get an answer soon. And the period was awful! It came early too which is horrible as the one saving grace of my awful periods was a long cycle! Aargh! At least it’s Christmas soon! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      I know right! I expected them to tell me my baseline was perfect! Aargh!
      I’m looking forward to your house cake! If you have any questions or want to chat about it then email me! Zerotozygote at gmail! It looks so fun!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. libraryowl33

    Thanks for sharing about your trip to Disney Paris, it looks wonderful. I’m so glad you were able to go. Sorry about your period and the fibroid though, that stinks! Oh, and I love your golden rhino!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Ooh thank you! Yeah I love DLP. It’s different to Orlando definitely (the French don’t do “Have a nice day!”) but the proximity makes up for it! It’s a bit more manageable than WDW as you can do both parks in a day. I’d love to go back to Orlando but Paris is much closer!
      Thanks for loving Mr Rhino! He didn’t last long! And I really hope the fibroid gets sorted… Aaaagh 😱

      Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Ah, it was probably more me wanting to talk about it than her! Seriously! Also I remember just wanting to be able to talk to someone about it, which is what led to me blogging in the first place!

      Like

  5. countyourselfunlucky

    The rhino is sooo handsome! I definitely love him! 🙂
    Sorry to hear your fibroid issues aren’t necessarily resolved. The “he said she said” stuff is very frustrating when you just want a clear answer.
    I’d really recommend you look into doing some clinic ‘open days’. These are free events to attract new patients so attending something like that shouldn’t jeapordise your NHS place. Also some clinics offer one off diagnostic testing which I shouldn’t think would affect your NHS place either because you’re not paying for IVF treatment (but that’s just my guess). Anyway you’re right there’s so much to think about and it is difficult to know what the right thing to do is.

    Like

  6. Recurrently Unlucky

    So frustrating about the fibroid, I really hope you get it figured out very soon and start your new cycle. The painful period sounds terrible too, I’m glad it didn’t ruined your lovely tradition. And the rhino is simply amazing, don’t know what you’re complaining about!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. thecommonostrich

    You’re insane- that is the cutest golden rhino ever. I mean, wow. That’s nuts.

    As an American, I find the pictures of the Wild West dinner totally surreal. Maybe that’s how Brits felt when Americans went crazy over Will and Kate’s wedding? Or when Americans dress up like Jane Austen? (Though I would pay gobs to Donald Duck dressed up as Mr. Darcy.)

    That fibroid business is not cool. I would be so pissed at the non-answers you’re getting. This isn’t like getting your car detailed– someone should be able to tell you what’s going on, damnit. Stay strong! Stay feisty!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Hahaha. Well we’ve been lots of times and never been to the Wild West Show so it was really more of a thing to do than anything else. I thought it was a bit of fun! Barbecue food and people riding about on horses. And in this one, the cowboys and indians/native americans were friends! 🙂

      Like

  8. flatwhitetogo85

    The cake is amazing! Well done 🙂

    I’m so pleased you had a good trip. What a great way to start the festive season!

    As for the (possible) fibroid and starting IVF take 2, URGHHHH. That is all I have to say. You have all my sympathy as it seems like it’s just one blow after another. Hopefully you’ll get some answers in the new year and can start getting yourself ready for the next round 🙂 x

    Like

Tell us your thoughts...

