TFIF!

This.

  
This week has been a bit of a slog. I like to keep profanity off this blog (for some reason I’m one of those people who worries about releasing swear words into cyberspace) but, really, thank €#%¥ it’s Friday!

Anyone else enjoyed their week as little as I have? In the spirit of trying to see the good in everything, I give you:

The rubbish bits

  • My work is literally the most thankless task at times. (All times.) This week I’ve been yet again working on a project where they’re really rude. I’m basically doing them a favour but they treat me like the proverbial – and I’m one of the most senior people on the project. It reached a tipping point yesterday when the director told me that he wasn’t interested in my expert opinion (when they’d brought me onto the project to give my expert opinion) and “We’re going to break the business anyway” (when I said I couldn’t recommend a course of action they wanted me to recommend, as it would in my opinion be detrimental to the business). Not being able to act with integrity I find hugely depressing. 
  • Annoying woman at work is still annoying, and is still hugely pregnant, and I still want to smack her in the face. But I won’t, because that would be bad. It’s nice to think about it though. 
  • I don’t get to spend enough time with Dog, as I feel like I’m working long hours right now. Yesterday I did around a 12hr day even though I was working from home, so I feel guilty for not giving him enough attention. 
  • My favourite work friend who sits opposite me handed in her notice. She has a new job with a great payrise so I’m happy for her! But I’ll miss her. 
  • I have to work this weekend because I have to prep for Monday’s presentation (see below).
  • I’m still infertile! Ha. (I just added that for effect. It hasn’t changed or gotten worse or anything.)

The good stuff

Because life isn’t that bad! I just feel all tired and end of the week-ish. 

  • We won the pub quiz! There’s this team who always win, but this week we won! We don’t go every week but it’s nice as there are a bunch of people from our block of flats and other friends who occasionally turn up. So that’s nice. 
  • I managed a new YTD low on weight loss. -4.8kg, yesterday. The fact that I cancelled it out by going out drinking last night is just minorly annoying. Hopefully I’ll be net down on last week! I measure myself every morning and compare it to this time last week. Today I was still down but not by as much! At least austerity is helping. (I tend to go up again at the weekend – boo!)
  • I had one of my second interviews this week and it went pretty well. I don’t know if they’ll offer or not but it would be nice if they do as I would have some escape options. I have the other second interview Monday night. Am less looking forward to it as I have to give a presentation, which is one of the things I hate the most in the world! 
  • We had a nice night out as a trio (me, T and Dog) as we went out for a friend’s birthday. The friend lives the other side of London so we don’t see her very often, and she also has a dog and we get on really well. It was nice to see her and her boyfriend and dog, and reminded me that sometimes it’s good to make an effort to stay in touch. It’s easy to get caught up in the mundane day to day tedious stuff and not make enough time for fun!
  • A friend of mine from school started a whatsapp group to share some old photos she found. They were really funny. I’m still in touch with everyone but they’re not in touch with each other, so we got them added to the group (I think five of us in total) and had a bit of a chat and a reminisce and a laugh about the old photos (turns out I’ve always had b*tchy resting face) and it was a nice little interlude in the week. 
  • We may have bought a house! Well, a flat. We saw one last weekend and really liked it. It’s teeny but has lots of character and is in our preferred area. We put in an offer this week and waited to hear. Then they said they’d accept if we offered the asking price as we were the favourite buyers. (They had 3 offers but I tried to build a rapport by email – I think it worked!) So now we have an offer accepted and just need to try and get all the legal stuff in place. I really hope it works out!

So that’s it really. Highs and lows of a very tiring week. Sometimes I’m just too tired to process anything until Saturday morning! I’m hunkering down for a night in with Doglet – after a couple of nights out this week I’m very tired, so obviously getting on a bit! T is out with the boys so I’m in with my boy-Dog and we are lying on the sofa reading (me) and snoring (Dog). It’s a gentle way to finish the week!

Plans for the weekend involve (annoyingly) prepping for the presentation. But some other nice things – planning to go to the flicks with a friend tomorrow night (T is off with one of his friends from overseas who’s in town) and we are meeting another couple of friends for brunch on Sunday. These two are quite hilarious in the way that they’re always exceedingly drunk! Unfortunately I won’t be able to drink if I want to be on my A game for the interview on Monday. Probably a good thing!

Happy weekend y’all! Tell me what you’re up to!

36 comments

    • Nara

      Ah thanks! I think I’m just a bit tired today (probably because we were out last night!). I’m sure I’ll feel more human in the morning. And I’ll take the snoring dog to bed! He’s hilarious – so loud!

      Like

  1. thegriefdiariesblog

    Hey Nara! I’m so glad you had some good times during the week, and doggy cuddles on the couch are a perfect way to wind down the week.
    This weekend I’m just resting at home, following doctor’s orders. But it’s nice though, having some quiet time.
    And I totally understand about releasing swear words into cyber space! I’m so glad I’m not the only one! But sometimes they just totally fit and are the only true way to express our feelings.
    Have a great weekend and all the best with your interviews!

    Like

    • Nara

      Ah, thank you!! I’m glad you’re having a nice rest this weekend… Quiet time is lovely! I kind of wish we hadn’t made plans and I could just vegetate, but we will try and get through it without too much damage! 🙂 Hope you have a nice relaxing time. And I’m glad I have a non-sweary blogbuddy! (I swear so much in real life! Haha!) xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • thegriefdiariesblog

        I try not to swear at all (I feel like such a goody two shoes sometimes), but sometimes it just works better.
        I really appreciated the picture at the start of your post, I have so many of those moments, I wish I had piles of paper to throw around like that when I’ve had enough!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Nara

        Ha! I swear way too much but I have that kind of superstition that it’s naughty to swear online, and you can’t take it back. But sometimes work deserves it! 😂

        Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Thank you!! I really hope we don’t get gazumped on the house. It would be lovely to have our own place. Our rented place is cool but it’s not “ours”. I’m spending this pm working on the presentation. Ugh! I really dislike giving presentations. Love making them in ppt though! Sad! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nara

        Hahaha! I’ve spent all weekend working on the bl**dy thing! It’s really annoying! But have been out a bit both days so at least have had that. Finally finished and now wondering whether it would be really bad to walk to the shop for chocolate! Good luck for yours on Wednesday xx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. EmilyMaine

    Well what a big week. Hopefully one of the good things (interviews) offsets two of the bad things (annoying pregnant woman and stupid dicks at work!). As you know from my blog I am quite the swearer so maybe I dose cyber space enough for the two of us 😉 This weekend I have my Monkey all weekend as Eric is away picking up our new family car. Eeeeeep! Granny has just come to take Monkey out for a few hours so I can get some alone time and we will go out for a fun kiddie adventure tomorrow. 🙂

    Like

    • Nara

      Haha yes, you do swear a lot! I love that! I am a complete potty mouth IRL but I have this weird idea that I shouldn’t put swear words somewhere permanent. But anyway, I’ve loved that e card since I first saw it and it’s something I often say when I leave the office on Friday. 😂

      Have a lovely weekend with the Monkey! It must be weird knowing life is going to change but Monkey doesn’t know! 😉 New family car sounds awesome, as does me time – Grannies are great! And kiddie adventure sounds very exciting!

      Like

  3. stealingnectar

    I loved your updates! Especially the house one! I cannot wait to hear more! Glad this week is behind you. Seems many in my life had pretty terrible weeks…good riddance! Good luck on Monday and can’t wait to hear the job news too!

    Like

    • Nara

      Thanks love! I really home the house comes through. It’s weird as I don’t really take things for granted till they happen. It’s further than we’ve ever got before so that’s good at least.

      I’m not looking forward to the presentation AT ALL! Urgh! But I sort of had a resolution to do stuff that’s out of m comfort zone (total corporate aren’t I?!) so I’ve made myself give a presentation in the past year. I’m fine just sitting and talking about a project but for some reason I go mental when I have to stand up and give a presentation! Anyway I just have to think of it in an opportunity way rather than a scary way.

      Hope all is well with you guys and that the little one is doing lovely! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • stealingnectar

        If I know you at all, I know you will totally dominate the presentation…it’s okay to be nervous! Just use the energy! I am really excited to think, in a matter of a month or two, you may have a house, a new job, and a little one on the way. I can’t wait to see how it works out! Xx

        Like

      • Nara

        Aaaaaaah that sounds nuts, doesn’t it?! I have finished it (I think) and now have to spend some time worrying about it tomorrow! Ha! I don’t know about the presentation – the ppt I prepared is pretty good I think, but I’m TERRIBLE at presenting. Hopefully it will be more like a discussion rather than a presentation!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Courtney

    Congrats on the flat!!! That’s super exciting! And best of luck on the interviews…. I hate presenting too. It is my least favorite thing in the world to do. Op

    Like

    • Nara

      Ha! Glad it’s not just me! Seriously I almost hyperventilate. I’m telling myself it isn’t that important. It’s for an interview so not work, and not a client or anything so if I do badly, I just don’t get the job. And I don’t overly want the job anyway. (I said this to the recruiter and they were really insistent I do it because they saw such potential in me, etc etc!) It’s not that I didn’t like them… More that I felt they didn’t like me that much (but then gave glowing feedback) and the salary wasn’t what I wanted (but they called back and said they’d meet my salary expectations if they did hire me). Mainly it’s a bit of a pain to do work on the weekend – I have to prepare a business plan, which I would have to research. But aside from the having to sit on the sofa working thing, I actually quite like research. And making ppts! So maybe it won’t be too bad… And my friend and I are going to see The Revenant tonight, which is meant to be good! So it might be okay! Guess you’re going to be doing something crafty this weekend! ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  5. thegreatpuddingclubhunt

    Happy TFI weekend!!! I was so done with this week too. But you have some great good things on your list! I love pub quizzes, pub quizzes here are really easy except for the sports questions, I suck at those!!! Congratulations on your new flat!!! That is wonderful they accepted your offer!!! Fingers crossed everything goes smoothly from now. And lots of luck too of course for a job offer!!! There is a lot of great stuff in this week to celebrate 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Thanks!! I hope your week gets better from here. I like our local pub quiz – it’s fun, with lots of picture rounds. I’m not great at them but the rest of the gang are – I tend to get the random questions!
      Excited about the flat – it is minuscule but has great character and I like places with character. We have to wait and see. At least we are set on an area now and there are a lot of places available there as they’re building new stuff. We went to see a couple this am just to check and the new ish build was actually really nice, so we do have a fallback option if this falls through. T likes the new build as it’s more practical, but I love old buildings with history and books and crannies! ☺️
      Hope you have a lovely weekend! X

      Liked by 1 person

      • thegreatpuddingclubhunt

        I have experienced both new build and character! My current flat I rent out in Portsmouth was a new build, it was perfect at the time – no hassle, easy, fancy, but it is basically a box shell, zero character except for the amazing view over the Solent! But we bought it in 2006, and new builds are always over priced unless you can haggle them down on their last few plots. So we lost almost 40k in value. But…it is 10 years old and had very little maintenance, it’s economical and easy to rent out! My last house in UK was in the Cotswolds and some of our walls were 400 years old!!! It was tiny, but I loved the village, and that’s where we spent most of our time anyway! Outside of the house!!! But it was so higgldy piggldy of a house it was fun. Character wins for me over size!!!! And in London I feel that is an important thing too for reselling potential. New builds are great for the first owners, then it becomes harder to attract buyers after that (in my honest opinion!!).

        Liked by 1 person

      • Nara

        Ahh, that sounds cool! We have generally lived in old places, and I grew up in quirky houses, so I think I’m quite into that sort rather than the new builds. New builds are much more practical (and spacious where we are looking) but there’s something that appeals to me about nooks, crannies, exposed brick and beams! I am sure if we ever manage to have a baby I’ll curse the stairs and no lift(!) but I kind of tell myself it will be good for exercise right now! 🙂
        Hopefully it will all go through, but I’m not one for counting chickens… I hope it does, but if not, at least we have settled on an area! It’s by the river, so really nice to think of spending time outside and stuff in the summer!

        Like

  6. flatwhitetogo85

    Those lows sound pretty sh*tty, but the highs sound amazing! Congrats with the weight loss (no easy task given the hours you work and everything else that’s going on) and brilliant news about the interviews! I really hope you get offered both of the jobs, if only to (a) give you options; and (b) give you confidence. It would be nice to be able to stick two fingers up at the horrible work place (or put it on the table and ask for a pay rise?).

    That’s so exciting about the flat. I really hope things work out. I know how stressful house buying/selling is, and how many hurdles you need to jump through. Hopefully you’ll get your dream flat, but if it comes to it and you need any advice about new builds give me a shout (although the two that we have lived in we’ve been the first ones in there, so the drawbacks and benefits may be different when you’re the second ones in).

    I hope next week is better than last week x x x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Thanks! Well I bet your week was pretty good – whoop whoop!
      Weekend wasn’t too bad in the end. A bit annoying to have to work, but I forgot how I quite like making presentations – what a saddo! I mean there’s a certain satisfaction I get from research and putting it into some sort of ppty sense.
      I hope for more of the good stuff and less of the bad this week, for all of us! 🙂

      Like

    • Nara

      How was the work?! Poor you and poor me! Although I know yours is really tough right now. (I was annoyed to work but at least I was sort of trying to get a new job! Haha!) I am now debating whether to go to the shop and get chocolate…!

      Like

  7. libraryowl33

    The housing news is so exciting! I hope it goes smoothly! Also, I’m very happy to hear that you might have the opportunity to move on to a better work environment. My fingers are crossed for you!
    This weekend I’m down in Los Angeles visiting my friend KM. Yesterday we took her son to the zoo, and today she and I had a girls day and went to high tea. It’s been a lovely weekend.

    Like

    • Nara

      Ooh, that sounds brilliant! I love afternoon tea and I love going to the zoo! And girls’ weekends! Awesome! It’s fun catching up with friends. I caught up with a girlfriend last night (after working most of the day) and we saw The Revenant. It was really gory! Quite traumatic! But enjoyable in a weird way! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Tell us your thoughts...

