In pictures: Staycation!

Staycations are fun! There’s actually something very satisfying about being on holiday when everyone else is at work in the same city as you are in. Plus, no need to get a dog sitter or holiday wardrobe, etc… or even pack/unpack. Yeah, staycations are the new way forward. I’ll have to see if I can get another one in before I start my new job in June!

We did loads of fun stuff. Here it is: Staycation in pictures. (Not including the trip to Hampton Court in a previous post!)

A friend is in hospital near us on a weekly basis for a few weeks, so we met up in the evening and went to Wagamama. I haven’t had the curry for ages – it was nice to catch up and the curry was tasty!  

We went for a long walk with Dog (one of many), down the Thames to the Thames Barrier. I’ve never seen the barrier in real life before – it’s like a big dam or something which they close a few times a year, to control the flooding… Or something. To be honest, I’m not entirely sure what it does (aside from increase flood risk to East London) but hey, it looks cool.

An upside down pylon – I think it’s art! By the dome. (The o2 dome aka the millennium dome.)

   

The Thames barrier! I decided after a few hours walking that I deserved a hot chocolate. With whipped cream and marshmallows. Obvs.    
This is a sculpture called Quantum Cloud by Anthony Gormley. In the background is the Emirates “Airline” (cable cars).

 

We took a day trip to Thorpe Park – a theme park near London. It’s very easy to get to, and it was a murky weekday so… Hardly any queues! We had such a great time, although we agreed we love Disney much more. Thorpe Park is more about the roller coasters – T made me go on a load of them and I was really scared!

   
You can’t really see the ride times here but they were all between 5 min and the longest was 35 min (at that time – when we went on it was around 10 min). It was great! I felt soooo sick though and didn’t really recover until we got back to London!


As you can see I did some fairly strategic stacking of the pick n mix cup!   
PIZZA. This was the first homemade one. We do a double one – pepperoni for me and ham / cream cheese / pesto for T. Underneath are loads of onions, peppers and mushrooms, plus cheese and tomato. I love pizza.

 

We took Dog for another long walk and went to the park for breakfast. Dog had half of mine!  
 
We went to see the real original Bagpuss at the Museum of Childhood! Exciting!  
And the Clangers! (They also featured in Bagpuss. For those of you not in the UK, you may not be familiar but it’s a children’s TV programme from the olden days!)

 
 
We went to a showing of the musical Guys and Dolls. I’ve never seen it before but I wanted to go because they look really happy on the promotional poster!

It was so good! It has great songs and dancing and stuff… We are now humming “…sit down you’re rockin’ the boat!”

   
 
And finishing off the staycation with…

  
Oh yeah… 🍕🍕🍕🍕

32 comments

    • Nara

      It was fun! Yeah, T likes cream cheese on pizza. He usually likes mascarpone and pesto but the first day they had Philadelphia on sale (a sort of low grade cream cheese! Not sure if you have it!) and it worked fine! Last night he had mascarpone and it’s a bit more soft I think. I’m not mad on pesto on pizza but he swears by it! ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  1. My Perfect Breakdown

    I wish I could have that staycation!! Although a trip to London would be a far cry from a staycation for this Canadian! One day I hope you get to show me around London!
    P.s. I’m trying that pizza! Ham, cream cheese and pesto sounds amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Of course! I hope that’s what’s going to happen in future! I’d love to go to Canada one day too (although maybe in summer as I’m not up to your winters!)

      The pizza is T’s favourite… I am more of a tomato girl! I also put loads of chilli on my side which he can’t take! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      I always want pizza! I would eat it for every meal! Enjoy your staycation. I think it’s nice to do stuff you usually don’t get to do… We walked a lot. I think our top day was 24k steps and we beat 12k every day (which is my daily target). And doing the popular touristy stuff when everyone is at work / the weather is a bit murky is a winner!

      Like

    • Nara

      Ah, well T has put me on a very strict schedule of sorting through boxes of stuff (from storage so we can free up cases for packing) but that is not very interesting to blog about! 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Mothering | From zero to zygote

Tell us your thoughts...

