IVF 2: Official test day

This morning I got up and did the “official” (NHS provided for official test day) home pregnancy test, which is a Clearblue test. 


I’m still pregnant!

Then I headed off early to get to Dr S’s clinic which is outside of London. It is a relatively easy trip but takes a while to get there as I need to get three types of transport (four if you count walking!). 

As I am four weeks pregnant this means I’m supposed to get an intralipids infusion. I also needed to get a top up of meds as they just give you enough to get you to now. 

The trip was fairly uneventful apart from it was difficult to get a vein, which I’m not normally icky about but I’ve started getting a bit more sensitive to, what with all the IVF meds and injections. I’m still on heparin every night as part of the immune protocol and so I seem to have developed a slight aversion to needles as they are big ones. 

The poor nurse had to try twice to get the line in. I was totally not loving it. 

Also I kept needing the bathroom! The intralipids are sandwiched between saline infusions to flush through your veins and I had to go in between each time! Seriously I think I must have some sort of issue with bladder control. (That said I was there before 10:00 and didn’t get the line in successfully till 10:26 so that didn’t help.) I do have really bad veins for this but I feel like the drugs have somehow made it worse. Maybe it’s the steroids but I’m totally swollen up. The only vein she could get was in my hand, which makes me feel a bit icky!


Had a nice chat with some other ladies doing the intralipids. One was just starting pre IVF (like what I did for my previous one) but already had a child from her first IVF with Dr S. She said she’d had a miscarriage like me through IVF without Dr S. The other lady was 12 weeks pregnant and she got pregnant naturally after some treatment with Dr S, when she’d never conceived before. It’s nice to speak with people who actually get it. We were saying “unexplained infertility” is such a catch all! We all came to see Dr S because we believed there must be a reason. 

Also briefly saw Dr S and said hi. He was over the moon about Try Try Again’s baby (he was so smiley!) plus I mentioned my sister was coming to see him so he was nice about that too. He’s a bit eccentric I think (very snappy dresser) but really does seem to care. 

If I can make it to 8 weeks then that’s when I’ll see Dr S for the next appointment – more intralipids and a scan. I’ve confirmed I’m pregnant to the NHS this morning so I’ll probably have the NHS appointment at 6-7 weeks so should know then if the pregnancy looks likely to progress or not. So right now the next milestone is the NHS scan. 

40 comments

  1. Amy M.

    Sounds like your morning wasn’t too bad, considering! Nice that you met some other women who have/are going through the same as you. I feel like when you find others, it makes you feel like not such a loner. Hope you have fun with your sister today!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TryTryAgain

    Brilliant news!! Really glad that you had such a lovely experience of meeting other ladies who have benefitted from Dr S’s treatment. And thanks for mentioning me to Dr S too, we certainly owe him a great deal 🙂 so pleased that things are progressing for you, fingers well and truly crossed for more good news in the coming weeks xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. babydreamsandlove

    Yay! So happy for you!! We knew you had to be – but still; YAY!! Hoping and praying for a nice healthy sticky bean xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. EmilyMaine

    Woooop! Look how strong that line is! And I really feel for you with the vein thing. I always think of those who struggle for clear veins when I have my stuff. I just think it must make it that much more difficult to experience. X

    Liked by 1 person

  5. theskyandback

    Sooooo exciting! Love that good, strong test. And OMG I always had to pee during Intralipids too! Mine were three hours of an Intralipid/saline combo and I probably peed ten times in those three hours every time I got an infusion. They made me freezing cold, too. But they worked so I’m so glad you’re on them!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. thegreatpuddingclubhunt

    Yeyyyy!!! I think I can now safely say a big congratulations! That line is darker than the control line by miles! I’m very excited for you. I know you’ve got a way to go yet before you will feel like true celebration, but I think one night of celebrating getting over this huge hurdle should be allowed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Tell us your thoughts...

