IVF2: A catch up

How did it get to be that time? I’ve been rather lax about blogging of late, for a number of reasons. Last time we spoke was way back in week 8, and since then I have:

  • Started a new job
  • Been madly packing up our apartment
  • Bought a house (well, an apartment/flat – it is London, after all)
  • Been waiting to get through the next milestone (our 10 week scan, this weekend)

Any one of those things would be kind of a big deal, but for us, it seems like it’s happening all at once.

Another reason I’ve sort of taken a break from blogging, apart from the fact that I’ve been busy, is that I’m still anxious about this pregnancy. I’m now 10 weeks 1 day and I haven’t miscarried, and I have various symptoms, but I really don’t feel like I have faith in this pregnancy yet, although I’m choosing to distract myself with thinking that it “might” happen. I mean, it will sort of happen if/when it happens and I have no control over it, but I had to take myself away from the constant pregnancy / infertility stuff for a while, just for my own sanity. So I’m sorry if I haven’t been as supportive as I could be to any of my blogfriends… I am thinking about you (and I went on a comments jag yesterday so catching up!) – I will be back properly soon, I promise!

The other reason is one of the pregnancy symptoms, I think – I am so tired! I feel absolutely exhausted most of the time right now, especially in the afternoons and evenings (oh and when I get up in the morning – so all the time then). I can’t even describe it. Maybe it’s that I usually have coffee every morning and whilst I haven’t entirely sworn off coffee, I have only had it very occasionally. But also I seem to be hit with this kind of uncontrollable tiredness in the afternoons, and it’s all I can do to get home and get to the sofa and then to bed! It. Must be a pregnancy symptom as I really am usually a minimum sleep night owl. 

Anyway, here are some updates:

New job

I am really enjoying it! It seems to be going well, subject to a few minor hiccups that will hopefully iron themselves out. (Eg I have a man reporting into me who seems sort of resistant about the idea of reporting into a woman – he’s going to have to get over that pretty quickly. And the tech isn’t quite what I was used to!) All the people I’ve met seem to be great. My new boss is awesome. The first day on the job he was called away and told me to take the second day off! So funny. And when I’ve told him about various things, he says not to worry. And he’s taking me (and others) sailing tomorrow… Life could be worse. I kind of can’t believe that I’m being the most I’ve ever been paid to do this job (which doesn’t seem to be very stretching so far… A nice kind of pregnancy relaxing job, as T said) but I’m thinking it’s maybe the calm before the storm. I’m trying to enjoy it whilst it lasts!

 

Packing

T has been quite cross with me about how slow I’ve been to pack. I don’t think he fully appreciates the pregnancy symptoms which manifest themselves as laziness! Probably because I’m quite lazy generally! Half our apartment (a big open plan studio) is full of boxes. It’s good I have T because he keeps telling me what to do. I’d never do it on my own!

All moving stuff is incredibly stressful though. Trying not to stress about it as it can’t be helped. Just massively annoying it’s taken so long to resolve when we should have been able to move in a nice relaxed way when I was working my notice period. Fortunately new job seems reasonable and I think they will be okay with me moving.

 

House buying

We exchanged and completed on our new place! Finally! We pick up the keys tonight. This is super exciting and long overdue. We last saw the place (tiny tiny!) 5 months ago which is insane, so we finally get to go and see it tonight. We probably won’t move until next week.

Ooh, I’m back from picking up the keys and seeing our (our!) new place and I’m pleased to announce that it is still lovely! Well – it’s teeny tiny but I love it. It’s in an old building (we only live in old buildings it seems!) and has lots of characterful features (eg wooden beams you bang your head on if you’re tall, which I’m not). I can’t wait until we are properly settled there. 

 

Pregnancy 

I’m still pregnant as far as I know! Last week I did a funny thing. I decided I’d always fancied going in one of those floatation tanks, and they had a Groupon offer, so I did it! So funny. It is like a big bath in a giant egg. You go in for a whole hour!


That’s it lit up and then you get in, close the lid and float. The water is all salty which helps you float. They play a bit of music for a bit and then it goes silent and you just… float. 

I quite enjoyed it really. It’s weird to switch off (no wifi!) but not unpleasant. Floating is fun. The one thing I would say is the salt water kept irritating my eyes – I wear contacts and I probably should have worn some goggles. Because of the heat and humidity you sort of get drips and sweat on your face, and then you try and wipe it off with your salty hands… Which means you do get stingy eyes. But maybe someone with not so rubbish eyes would be okay! Anyway I might do it again at the right price. It’s meant to be a bit like being in the womb… I can’t say I remember it, but it’s a kind of pleasant feeling!

In terms of pregnancy symptoms (or what I think might be symptoms) I’ve had the following:

  • Extreme tiredness as I described above. Always tired!
  • Nausea / extreme hunger – I sort of feel sick when I’m hungry, and then after I’ve eaten I have a sort of crash, and feel like I have to lie down and sleep – it’s weird. 
  • Bad taste in my mouth – I really need to drink something fresh or something like that, as I end up having this sort of dry or bad taste in my mouth. I’ve noticed this a lot. It ends up with me drinking lots of water or eating fruit! Odd!
  • Sensitive to smells – I’ve always had a keen sense of smell but I feel like I smell stuff really strongly now. I’m especially sensitive to BO on the tube or bad breath. Or food smells (like T had some corned beef which I can’t stand and I almost killed him!). 
  • Food cravings or aversions – I don’t know if it’s actual cravings but I definitely feel like eating certain things and not others. I’ve always been a fussy eater but it feels a bit different, like it takes me a while to decide what I want to eat at any point. I’m quite into clementines at the moment (healthy!) and weirdly not as into chocolate or pizza as I usually am. But in terms of meals it’s like I can only eat what I “feel like”. Today I had quiche! I can’t think of the specific things as it varies by day but it does feel a bit different than my usual faddish eating. 

I think that might be it. Obviously stomach and boob swelling. Generally all over fatness. It’s quite horrible in that way and I feel very unwieldy but not much I can do about that. I stopped weighing myself last week as I was getting stressed. Also I feel so sick at times I just have to eat something. 

 

Other stuff

It was Father’s Day in the UK last weekend. I think it’s the same most places whereas our Mother’s Day is different. I sent my dad a card with the 8 week ultrasound in and got an excited call from my parents on the Sunday! It was funny. They’re happy although obviously concerned for me after last time. I keep trying to temper my expectations with the idea that “if it happens” and so on. It sounds really negative but I can’t count on it just yet. Maybe at 12 weeks. 

I got T a father to be card for Father’s Day! He seemed quite pleased. I didn’t even know you could get them but I saw it when I got my dad’s card and thought I should try it. 

We voted today! For those of you not in the UK, I’m talking Brexit. I actually did a postal vote as I wasn’t sure if we would have moved by now, which we obviously haven’t – so I voted last week. I’ve never seen a vote where people were so vocal about it. 


If you want to know how I voted – I say we need to stay European and fabulous!

 

Next steps

Two more days till we see our little baby again. I hope s/he has grown. The midwife said if we get past 9 weeks it’s seen as a good thing. So we shall see. 

A final thought: When we got to our new place tonight, I had post! It was a letter from the hospital where I’ve registered, our new local hospital, giving us our booking appointment (the first appointment with the midwife to start planning the birth). It’s on a weekend so T will be able to come. It was a really nice thing that my first letter there was that. 

The ex owners also left us a care package of food, tea and coffee, biscuits, crisps and chocolates! It was really nice. 

Here’s to new beginnings… and staying pregnant. The next milestone!

35 comments

  1. countyourselfunlucky

    lovely to hear all your exciting updates 🙂 Totally understand you feel anxious about the pregnancy… but it sounds like a great set of symptoms & I am so hopeful this will go from strength to strength. Congrats on your new home and new job! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My Perfect Breakdown

    Everything sounds so wonderful!!! I’m thrilled to read all your pregnancy symptoms, that the new job is going well and that you have your new place! I get that you are anxious but I love that the symptoms are there and I’m going to keep holding onto hope for you and your little one. Sending so much love!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mamajo23

    Wow so much going on. Glad you have a new place and that growing baby to keep you company. Everything crossed for your scan this weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. RJ

    Good luck this weekend with your scan. I totally get the anxiety, it’s very hard to deal with. Congrats on the place and glad the job is going well.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Amy M.

    I love everything about this post!!! Once you get settled, will you post some pics of your new place? I’m so happy that everything is falling into place for you!! That floating thing sounds fabulous!! I love to just sit in water (especially when I was having horrible RLP earlier this week, we went to the pool and I just sat there for about 40 minutes!) and would really like to take more baths to just soak, but I always feel like I don’t have time lol. Anyway, just feeling so happy for you! Have fun on your sail tomorrow, and with your scan this weekend!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Thank you so much! Umm I might have to send you pics of the new place as I try to have a bit of anonymity! 🙂 Plus you will be sooooo shocked at the size of things in London as I remember you’ve posted pics and our entire flat could probably fit into one room of yours, haha! You should definitely try a floatation tank! Apparently it’s safe in pregnancy! It was a funny experience but weirdly enjoyable… I think I would enjoy it again if I can find some goggles!

      Like

  6. TryTryAgain

    Wahey!! So much great stuff happening all at once, love it!! 🙂 totally understand not posting as much, I was exactly the same, just do whatever keeps you sane. Really hope tomorrow’s scan goes well, will be thinking of you as always xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ashleykyleanderson

    I’m glad you posted, I was just about to send a message and catch up a bit. I have been thinking of you every day through these tough weeks and just hoping that they go by for you as quickly as possible. Now look– here you are, nearly at your 10 week ultrasound! This is going to be a good one!! And I think you said you’ll have a 12 week one too, which is awesome. We didn’t get another one until the gender ultrasound at 17 weeks, so that was a really tough stretch to get through, but you’ll really get to see baby moving and developing through these next two.

    And wow, you have got so much going on! I don’t envy you moving… it’s the worst. And I don’t think people realize how much of a killer fatigue is, so no judgement on so-called laziness from me. It’s hard enough to scrape up energy for things you WANT to do. Honestly, some days dealing with my fatigue is worse than dealing with the pain because it’s not always something you can force your way through. I hear the 2nd trimester is usually much easier as far as energy goes, so hopefully you will get a break soon and be feeling more normal.

    I’m looking forward to hearing your update from this weekend! I’ll be thinking of you guys on Saturday. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Oh thank you! That’s so sweet of you. Yes lots of scans planned. I’ll do a quick update on the scan on another post. I am so tired, I don’t know how you cope with it, honestly! It’s so not like me! Doc said that it is normal and apparently I’ll feel MORE symptoms as I come off the steroids… Eek! Anyway it’s great to hear from you! I love seeing pics of you and baby Ross! And your family! You sure do have some good genes! Xx

      Like

  8. Cin and Jay

    I’ve been hoping everything is going well. So glad to hear everything is on track pregnancy wise. Sounds like based on your symptoms everything is good. Praying for y’all. Congrats on the new job and especially the new house! Moving on is so fun especially with organizing everything. At least for me it is. Keep us updated!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Thank you so much! Yes it’s all sort of happening at once… It’s nuts! I guess it’s like buses… Haha. Hope all is going great with you and your little peanut! X

      Liked by 1 person

  9. EmilyMaine

    Wow so much going on but it is all great! Those previous owners are adorable leaving you that care package and I love the good juju that I believe your first mail at the new digs brings. All your symptoms sound really normal and healthy so I think that embie is doing great. So glad the new job is working out so well. Yay! Great to hear from you but totally get the blogging break too. You should do what is best for you. Not long until the end of the first trimester now. You are nearly there and every day puts you in a safe zone. Thinking of you X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Thank you for understanding! Yeah not long to go now… It does seem to go so slowly! The good juju was great though! I am excited for the next scans… Have to do an update on today’s scan (phew). I think if I get to 12 weeks I will feel better! X

      Like

  10. Maternally Optimistic

    All so amazing! Congrats on the new house! Pregnancy symptoms are all sounding good. The wanting to drink something refreshing i totally get, I’m currently going through a lot of orange juice! So happy for you.xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Dubliner in Deutschland

    Great news about your new apartment! Will you need to do any renovations/painting etc or can you just move in as it is? I’m delighted your pregnancy is moving along nicely and in just a few weeks you’ll be in the second trimester. I hope your small work issues will go better – that man reporting to you needs to get with the times! )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Thank you! We can move straight in (though probably no room to move until we have unpacked some boxes!)… We will want to do some updates I think to the kitchen and bathroom, but we can wait to do them. Exciting! But tiny! Hope you are well. Need to catch up on blogs! Xx

      Like

  12. thegreatpuddingclubhunt

    That’s wonderful about your new job!!! Congratulations on the house and move! I have been exactly the same with our packing – usually I am the one leading on the packing but I’ve been way too tired to do much 😳 I wish you lots of luck moving into the new place! Are you having to also consolidate/get rid of things to make room as you are moving into a smaller place? I’m not very good at that-I hoard just in case 😊 exciting times though!!

    I love your Father’s Day card idea!!! So sweet…I bet there were some happy tears for you!

    Good luck for your scan, hoping it brings you a little more comfort in your pregnancy. It’s bloody hard to stay positive that’s for sure.

    Take it easy with the move though!!! I got told off by my mum and gran for lifting things when they came to visit. I guess they have a point 😳

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Thank you! I’m terrible at packing at the best of times. We are heavily rationalising… Especially when we went round to the house and they’d left the sofas! Ha! We have no room to put anything anywhere! I think it will be a bit of a clutter site for six months or so. But we will get used to it! And I love it – it’s really quirky, lots of nooks and crannies.
      I have a scan update! (Phew) Will post in a min! It is soooo hard to do all the waiting although I feel I’m getting more and more used to the idea of it.
      I won’t be lifting stuff! We have booked removals guys after the stress of last time! I don’t feel pregnant in some ways but then I suppose I feel big and booby and I’m the heaviest I’ve ever been… So I will have to get used to it as it’s going to get worse, hopefully!

      Like

  13. thegreatpuddingclubhunt

    Oh, also, I don’t know about you but I am gutted about the outcome of the referendum. I voted remain…I’m actually quite upset by it and want to protest but not sure how form here!!!! I’m intrigued to what the atmosphere is like in London right now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • flatwhitetogo85

      Omg it is just beyond infuriating. Actually, infuriating just doesn’t cut it. I don’t know how to describe it. What a total waste for all the future generations! So many lost opportunities. And for what? Some ridiculous idea that Britain will be better off financially? That we can pick and choose the good and the bad from our EU membership? The future will be much worse for us, but sadly those that caused this will (as always) look to blame someone else rather than taking responsibility. *Massive Sigh*

      Like

    • Nara

      The atmosphere is crazy… Like mourning. We voted Remain, and so did almost all my friends, with the exception of a very few – not in London. I have sort of gotten over the shock and now have fatigue of all the drama and upset about it. I am hoping we will all come to our senses and it won’t end up going through!

      Like

  14. flatwhitetogo85

    This is all amazing news. I am so pleased that so many wonderful things are happening to you right now. What a year! I so hope the scan went well today. I’m also so pleased your new job is going well and the team are supportive 🙂 x x x

    Liked by 1 person

Tell us your thoughts...

