IVF 2: Like, actually pregnant (almost 16 weeks)

I don’t know why it’s so hard to update nowadays. I think it’s because I’m actually pretty busy at work, and then when I’m outside work, I’m quite busy too. Tonight I went to a book reading for a book that I partly crowd funded! Very exciting! (I was one of hundreds so it’s not like I did it on my own.) It was really brilliant but then not so fun travelling back late night in the rain and pregnant.

Anyway, I wanted to do an update because it’s hard to describe this feeling of tipping over from being not-pregnant to sort-of-pregnant to, s***, I think I might actually be pregnant!

The reason I say this is because today I told the HR lady at work. This really wasn’t as bad as it sounds. I really get on with her – and it feels weird to call her “HR lady” but sort of disrespectful to call her “HR girl” so anyway, I told my friend at work who works in HR.

She was excited for me! Which was nice. I also said I was worried about telling my boss and whatnot and she said not to worry and he’d just have to deal with it. We will have to figure out how we divide up the leave – I’ve not been there very long so I’m entitled to some very low paid maternity leave (statutory maternity leave which works out at next to nothing so is essentially unpaid leave) but T might be able to take some Shared Parental Leave (this newfangled thing in the UK where the mother gives up some of her mat leave and the father/partner can take it). So – it might be an option.

We have been doing some sort of pregnant-y things too. Like we went to see a nursery. Believe it or not we have to sign up ASAP to be sure of getting a place for little bub – especially if I’m not taking the (usual in the UK) year mat leave. We saw our closest local one (pretty much at the end of our street) and it was so nice! It would be great. Seeing another one on Wednesday and then we’ll sign up for one of them. You have to pay a deposit but then you’re going to get a place. The earliest the nurseries take babies is four months, so we need to take four months off between us, which should be achievable.

HR lady said I should just try and speak with my boss when I can. He’s notoriously elusive so I’ll have to ambush him one day I think, which I’m not looking forward to. We get on SO well and I really don’t want to jeopardise that. But I’m definitely beginning to show and have been for a few weeks, but I’m sort of disguising it with baggy clothes. Eventually I’ll have to start dressing pregnant rather than fat!

In other news we told T’s parents. We did a reveal, which was really fun, and they were thrilled. It took them a while to get it… They didn’t quite understand! It was a balloon in a box and also a banner and the ultrasound picture. I suppose we didn’t realise that they had never had one (as T is adopted like me) so they didn’t quite understand what it was supposed to be, especially as the baby looks like a blob! But they were super happy. It was really nice. Also my parents were happy and my dad kept asking if I’d told them yet. I think he’s more excited than I am!

I had an unexpected nice day out with my dad last week. He was supposed to be doing a London trip with my mum, but then she had to go and look after a sick relative. (I might do a post about that, but not right now.) So they’d already booked to go to a show and my dad asked if I’d go instead. It was Carole King, the musical Beautiful. Well – I would never have picked to go – it just didn’t sound like my thing, but I absolutely loved it. Straight to the top 3 of my musicals list. (Matilda, Les Miserables and now Beautiful, if you ask.) Firstly it had music I liked, from the 60s, and secondly the story was really good. It was sort of funny as everyone in the audience was my dad’s age, and I probably looked like his girlfriend or something, but I really enjoyed it and it was a nice unexpected outing with my dad. He definitely seems the most excited so far and keeps talking about his next grandchild.

We also told my brother and got a video message from him and the kids. We sent a card for aunts and uncles day which was last Tuesday. I also sent one to my other sibling overseas but that probably won’t get there for ages! And my sister already knows. So… We are sort of telling more people. We went out with friends at the weekend and we told them.

Half of me is happy but half is still scared.

I’m definitely porking out. I even had to order some Palmer’s cocoa butter as I suddenly realised I was getting stretch marks on my boobs. They are humungous. I am sort of shocked when I see them. And I definitely have a belly. Also I did the Doppler yesterday and found the heartbeat straight away. Usually it takes me a while. So that cheered me up. I suppose we are gradually adding in pregnancy type things. T wants me to make a list of stuff we need so he can figure out the best place to get it.

Really when I was speaking with HR lady today I said it didn’t feel real. She said I would have to get used to it! I think I’m still so scared something bad might happen.

Wednesday is my midwife appointment. The first one in the community after my booking appointment. And Friday is my appointment at the private clinic so at least I will get a scan.

I had an alarming call today as in anticipation of the midwife appointment they said they checked my file and apparently my routine urine sample last time (about two weeks ago) showed an “equivocal” result which means that I *might* have a urine infection. They left this message whilst I was in a meeting at work! I panicked, obviously. Anyway the upshot is that I managed to speak with my GP and he said it was unlikely if I had no symptoms, but has prescribed me antibiotics… Both he and the midwife said not to worry if I was asymptomatic. But obviously it’s a slight worry. I’m trying not to as they said not to!

Anyway, here I am, almost 16 weeks (currently 15 + 5). That’s something. To put you in the picture, I’m lying in bed with T and Dog, humungaboobs smelling very chocolatey (from the cocoa butter). What a mental image!

48 comments

    • Nara

      I’ve just caught up on your blog. I’m so sorry. I’m absolutely gutted for you. Thank you for coming on here and wishing me well in the midst of all you are going through. I am sending you lots of love. Xxx

      Like

  1. EmilyMaine

    Hope all goes well telling the boss. The company sounds great so I am feeling positive for you. And so happy you are starting to actually feel preggers. Your dad sounds like a total sweetheart X

    Like

    • Nara

      Thank you! Yeah he’s a great boss. I just hope he doesn’t turn horrible once I tell him! I’m sure he isn’t that kind of guy but you never know. I do feel a bit preggers now at least. Getting bigger! X

      Liked by 1 person

  2. TryTryAgain

    Hurray for another lovely update! So pleased for you!! Don’t panic too much about the UTI – I had at least 3 whist I was pregnant and I remember one of them I had no symptoms for. They’re so common when you’re pregnant and simple antibiotics will sort it.

    Good luck telling your boss – hopefully all will be fine ๐Ÿ™‚ and good luck at the next scan too xxx

    Like

    • Nara

      Aww thanks! I told T and he said they’re being overly cautious. I can’t pick up the antibiotics until this evening (because of pharmacy opening hours) so I’m hoping that’s okay. They originally said wait until tomorrow for another test anyway! The next scan is Friday, eek! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. sewingbutterfly

    Yay for 16 weeks!! Yep, definitely pregnant! I am sure your boss will be fine. Good luck for all your upcoming scans! We had the all clear from our cardiac scan yesterday, so relieved.

    Like

  4. stealingnectar

    You are absurd and hilarious! Love the mental image! Welcome to “real” pregnancy! That’s when I started embracing it too. So excited for you! I thought about 16-32 weeks or so we’re the most fun. Enjoy them!

    Like

    • Nara

      Ha. Seriously I feel like an idiot slathering chocolate smelling butter on my boobs! ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ I do feel like I’m cautiously getting more into it. I think I will feel better after the scan on Friday if it goes well. And even better at 20 if we make it that far. It just seems surreal!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. countyourselfunlucky

    So glad to see your update & you’re finally feeling it. Hope your boss is nice about it. He has no reason to be anything other than nice (or businesslike as an absolute minimum) in my opinion! Congrats on telling the family xx
    p.s. have you tried bio oil? Expensive but reeeeealllly good x

    Like

  6. Cin and Jay

    Yay! So glad everything is chugging along. Can’t wait till you get an ultrasound where little peanut looks like a baby. That one is the best and a big reality check that you are actually pregnant!

    Like

    • Nara

      Thanks! We’ve had quite a few scans but the images are quite bad! It does look like a baby when moving but not with the stills! I think we will get one of the 3D scans once I’m pregnant enough (if!).

      Liked by 1 person

  7. sbach1222

    I so understand being away and excited and scared to tell people. This is the first time I have been on in MONTHS. And I am so happy to see that you are doing well! I have thought about you a lot while away. That is adorable how you told the parents. I was too scared to say anything to I blurted it out like it was ripping off a bandaid and then told them not to get too excited and I left. lol. Not what I had pictured a couple of years ago for sure.

    But I do completely get where you are, wanting to tell people, and then being scared because they know. It’s a natural feeling in this place. But it sounds that everything is going as perfectly as it could be so far for you and baby and I am so happy for you!

    Like

    • Nara

      Aww thanks for understanding. It’s really weird as I’m getting bigger so it definitely feels like it’s getting real. But not that many people know so it’s just that sort of balance between being a guess and being obvious. I’m starting not to fit into clothes so I think someone’s going to say something soon! Hope that everything is good with you. I understand not being on for a while – I am the same! I think partly through tiredness too!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Mrs T

    Humungaboobs, ha! I’m sure it’s surreal to be having to concretely plan for a kid at the end of this! I tried to put my head in the sand for as long as possible ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Nara

      Haha I feel ya. We dropped off the nursery registration today. So weird!! I still feel like I might have to go and retract things… It’s just a strange feeling right now.

      Like

  9. Dubliner in Deutschland

    Aw it must be so nice telling people and maybe it will also feel more “real” to you once everyone knows and you can start dressing more like a pregnant lady! Glad your HR boss was so nice. I love going to musicals so I would probably have loved the Carole king show too!

    Like

    • Nara

      Thank you! I’m thinking it will be easier once I can be pregnant rather than fat! Yeah it’s good the HR lady is so nice. Although she is just nice! My boss is nice too but I just don’t want him to be weird about it. I hardly ever see him so I think I might have to just surprise him – eek! Oh the musical was great – you should definitely go and see it! It was pretty moving but also had some funny moments. And lots of great 60s music!

      Like

  10. miraclebabyo

    YOUR PREGNANT!!! Great to hear that it is starting to sink in, I completely understand how you feel. We found out the gender yesterday and that was a huge step for us toward making it a little more real. I can’t wait to start feeling kicks, everyone keeps telling me I should feel them anytime now.

    Like

    • Nara

      Yeah me too! I haven’t felt anything yet. We got the gender ages ago which is funny to think! So we have been thinking of the baby as that gender! I think with kicks they say it can be any time from now but could be up to 20 weeks. I am 16.5 (well a bit more… 17 on Wed) so hoping it starts soon! Hope you are well!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Thank you so much! It’s weird. We haven’t really told people – more through necessity (if not drinking- seriously in the UK that is a major sign!) but have only told the family really consciously. I think once I look obviously pregnant rather than fat, that will change!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. thepregnantlifeblog

    Yay! Thanks for sharing, I love hearing how other’s pregnancies are going. I’m sharing about mine weekly over on my blog too. It’s nice to know I am not alone in this journey and to hear how others handle it. xox

    Like

Tell us your thoughts...

