Just for kicks – boom boom (19 weeks)

So after my pep talk from various people including our very own Courtney (love her!), I decided this week to combine not caring if people noticed I am pregnant with the unseasonable London heatwave… I broke out the maternity frocks. 

I don’t know if it’s just the maternity clothes that make me look more preggers, or if I’ve actually gotten bigger, but T said to me last night, “OMG! You really have grown!”

I have definitely felt a sort of stretching sensation in my ribs that I think is a sign my body’s expanding. It really feels now that what was a sort of maybe-it’s-too-much-pizza tummy is more of an actual bump now. Previously it was lower hanging but now it feels like my ribs have sort of made a bit of space for B. 

My various apps tell me that B is now the size of a grapefruit. En route to being a mango next week! I think he’s going through a growth spurt because bump suddenly seems more noticeable. Also I’m what’s commonly known in the UK as a “short arse” which means there isn’t very much room for B to grow apart from outwards. Oh dear. I’m obviously never going to be one of those graceful gazelles with long lithe limbs and a tiny neat bump!

Anyway because you were so nice about my previous “bumpie” I thought I’d show you my “Is she or isn’t she?” shots in my work clothing this week. Note this is the first week I decided to wear actual maternity dresses although I did wear a maternity dress last week which isn’t very bump-ish and is more like a conventional work dress which is a bit stretchy. This week is a bit of a “heat wave” here (yes I know you’ll laugh, about 30 degrees C as a top temp) so I really couldn’t be bothered to sweat it out in wintery clothes. 

Yesterday (18+6)

This dress is from Mamalicious via Amazon. Note the very cunning use of the silk scarf. Doesn’t look too pregnant-y from the front…


Omg where did that come from?! Note I am holding the dress in a way that shows off the bump! Now you can kind of see where T was coming from…


And here’s today’s offering (19 weeks). 

I actually got complimented by one of the women at work on my kimono! So either they’re just saying nothing or haven’t noticed! The dress is from Zeta Ville on Amazon and was the first maternity dress I wore (to the family gathering a few weeks ago). 


Wowsers! What the heck is that?! (Again I’m holding the dress to show the bump.)


So yeah, maybe I was kidding myself that it’s not that noticeable?! 😂😂

In other news, I took delivery of my Dream Genii pregnancy pillow last night. (I love our new place – 24 hour concierge!)

The good news is it’s really comfortable and it’s also not insanely big like some pregnancy pillows. Also I didn’t wake up with back ache like I have been doing. 

The bad news is it’s useless at keeping me sleeping on my left, as I just ended up rolling back over on it and happily sleeping on my back!

The latest symptoms which may be related to that is an awful aching in my legs. Apparently this is common in the third trimester (B is an overachiever already perhaps) as the weight of your belly presses down on some nerve that aggravates back pain and circulation. Fab news! Not. 

So I really felt quite horrible even coming home last night with a sort of dead leg feeling. Dr Google says it’s pregnancy leg pain or leg cramps and I just have to keep my circulation going. 

I had been out with my girlfriend for Thai. Now my main named pregnancy craving has been chicken satay, and last night I finally got a good one! T and I have been all over London finding one to satisfy my craving. The one last night was good… But not THE satay I was looking for. The search continues…!


So the single “dead leg” last night translated into double dead legs overnight. So horrible! Every time I got up to go to the bathroom (about 3-4 times) I had these horrible heavy legs. It’s probably me not sleeping on my side as I’m supposed to. 

My main pregnancy food cravings have been:

  • Fruit, especially apples and nectarines. 
  • Asian food, like fresh food not my usual deep fried and pizza! And particularly chicken satay. 
  • Fruit juice like orange juice and pineapple juice. 

Fortunately where we’ve moved to also has an awesome and really cheap Vietnamese restaurant that I was overjoyed to discover. So that takes care of my need for freshness. It’s really cheap for London and you can get an entire meal, table service, for under a tenner. 

We took T’s sister there as she came to visit. It was really nice to see her. I was terrible and did a pregnancy afternoon nap but hey! I’m sure that’s allowed. She said that T’s parents keep calling her to tell her about The Reveal… which is funny as she was “there” (on FaceTime!). It’s nice to know they are excited! She said she was also super excited and vowed to keep B in trainers (sneakers) because she loves baby shoes!


Also… I do think B is doing lots of fluttering now! I’ve definitely noticed more over the past few days. Either it’s a weird sort of indigestion or it’s our actual baby trying to make his presence known. We saw on the app that apparently he can turn upside down and still has room for acrobatics so I guess he’s taking advantage before it gets more cramped. 

T has been funny. We always have our talks in the morning (walking Dog, and on the boat) and I told him that B could now hear our voices and start to recognise them. We said we should get Dog some baby tapes so he gets used to the sound. And then T came back with a story book that he decided he will read B every night! It’s about dogs in the Arctic or something like that! 

I am glad he is getting into it because I think that guys can feel a bit uninvolved… Also I was worried he would find the bump disgusting but he does talk to B through it, and he offered to rub cocoa butter into my boobs! (I rejected that kind offer! They’re still inflamed!)

So… Work is busy and summer is yucky but I’m feeling strangely upbeat. Maybe I just have got a bit more “in the zone”. I want to do what people have said to do and embrace this pregnancy and try and be happy and not imagine terrible things happening. So it’s a bit of a Jedi mind trick but I will try!

And to top off today: Here’s another boat pic of London in the summer!


Thanks to everyone for your support. It really means a lot. Xx

50 comments

  1. TryTryAgain

    Your bump is definitely coming along!!! It’s funny how it just pops out all of a sudden isn’t it? 🙂 so pleased that all is going well, good luck in the heat too!! Xxx

    Like

    • Nara

      Thank you! It’s really odd to realise it’s gone from looking like a pot belly to quite big all of a sudden. And then I realised it was going to be much bigger… Like the baby is watermelon size! Eek! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Marixsa

    The pics taken from the front are hard to tell, but the side views are definite “is she” for your wondering colleagues. You look great! And I’m so pleased that you’re beginning to really embrace your pregnancy. Plus, I’m still totes jealous over your daily commute by boat. How cool is that?! Last, I hope you find that elusive delicious chicken satay very soon!

    Like

    • Nara

      Thank you! That’s really sweet of you to say. And yeah the boat is great! Hilariously T missed his stop this morning as we were chatting away, haha… He had to get the tube back!
      I am sure I’ll find the chicken satay… Will keep looking! 😂

      Like

  3. Cin and Jay

    Cute bump pics! Can definitely tell you are pregnant from the side! So glad T has gotten into bonding with the bump. Jay had a really hard time with it and keep saying he would bond when baby came and he has! He always felt so weird talking to the bump lol I guess that was just my time to bond. Those first flutters of baby movement is so much fun! It’s like what are you doing in there little one? In the beginning with Theodore it would tickle me and I hate being tickled so it was conflicting feelings. I liked feeling him and hated being tickled. Love your pics of London! Makes me so jealous! Keep the bump pics coming!

    Like

    • Nara

      Aww thanks! Yeah T says goodnight to the bump… It’s like the Waltons in our house… (Goodnight Dog, goodnight T, goodnight N, goodnight B!) I can’t say he really talks to the bump yet. Although he did make an effort with the book!

      I’m definitely getting more sensations that must be B’s kicks. That’s so funny about Theodore tickling you! I don’t mind the sensation but right now it’s like very light bubbles or something. It’s weird to think he is jabbing at me!

      Oh I’ll have to post another few London pics as I’m in a high up meeting room today!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. sewingbutterfly

    The bump is definitely there! People probably suspect but it is that social contract of ‘don’t ask till she tells!’ People at my work were told around week 17ish I think (boss was 13 weeks) and a few said they had suspected anyway. I am also a short arse and my bump at 27 weeks feels so huge but I love it! It means baby is growing properly and the movements I get reassure me he is okay in there. I use my doppler every now and then but as I see my midwife for blood pressure stuff every 2 weeks now I don’t bother as she does it for me.

    So excited for you 🙂 can’t wait to hear about your experience with your morphology scan, love to see if it is similar to ours here in Aus.

    Like

    • Nara

      Thank you! Sorry it’s been so long to reply. Busy at work and then we had the bank holiday here! Off to the scan in a few hours so I’m hoping all will be well… Hope you are well! X

      Liked by 1 person

  5. pinksnow78

    Your bump is fab!! And yay for feeling baby move – it’s so amazing!! I think people at work are just being polite – you definitely look pregnant – hurrah!! And not long till 20 week scan. So happy for you ❤ x x

    Like

    • Nara

      Haha. Thanks! I have inspected my belly today and realised there are new stretch marks (despite religious rubbing in of cream!) so I guess it really is growing… I have my scan later today so we shall see! X

      Like

    • Nara

      Oh yeah it has been boiling here! It’s been the bank holiday which is nice. It’s rather tropical for what we are used to! Here’s hoping it goes cooler again soon… Usually I love the sun, but right now I’d like some cool air!

      Like

    • Nara

      Haha. I have been showing it off, not deliberately but I think it’s just got to that stage now! Hope you’re doing well! I’m sure yours will be growing just as much so any day now!

      Like

    • Nara

      Oh I don’t know if I get one of those! I’ve tried to stick to fruit more than the juice. For some reason in my head it’s not so bad. Hope you are feeling well. X

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Amy M.

    You definitely have a bump! I think if people haven’t said anything, they’re just being polite. One thing about T’s sister wanting to keep the baby in trainers…I just read a whole article on how shoes are NOT good for babies, because it does something to mess up the development of their little feet, so they should be barefoot. I don’t know if I’ll be able to find it again, but if I do I’ll share with you. And my baby even still has room to do flips and go crazy, they don’t run out of room for that until well into the 30s weeks. So don’t worry! Glad things are going well, and that you seem to be so much more comfortable in your pregnancy!!

    Like

    • Nara

      Oh I’m so with you! That makes me laugh actually as the very first thing I said to her when she said that was that babies can’t wear shoes! If she does give us baby shoes he won’t wear them unless it’s really briefly for a photo. Don’t worry… I am not putting him in shoes before he can walk! So funny we thought exactly the same thing! X

      Liked by 1 person

  7. MrsD

    To me there’s definitely no question you look pregnant, so if your coworkers truly haven’t noticed, they must not be very bright! However, I had a few coworkers who somehow didn’t notice until I was pretty far along and it had been VERY obvious for a while, so maybe I’m not such a great judge of these things. But either way, you have such an adorable bump!!!

    Like

    • Nara

      Aww thanks! Yes I think I am not super close to a lot of people I work with (as I only started a while ago, plus I work on client site so it’s not my company). So I don’t think they have an idea of what I usually look like! I am sure they’ll notice soon! I suppose people just don’t say anything so maybe I should! It seems a bit silly and superstitious but I was kind of wanting to get to our 20 week scan (today) before saying anything! (My company knows but not the client.)

      Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Ahhh thanks! Well London in the summer is not ideal for pregnant people! It’s so hot here right now! Usually I love the heat but it’s boiling now and I am not as lightweight as usual! 😂

      Like

  8. s

    As someone who didn’t want a lot of people talking about my pregnancy (previous loss and all that makes one nervous), I hid it with baggy clothes and scarves at work until I was about 26 weeks along. When it was finally unavoidable for me to hide it anymore, I noticed no one said anything. When I finally told a couple colleagues they said that no one had said anything as people were a bit: “ummmm…. that looks like a bump but… what?? where did it come from?” And thus were actually even more reluctant to say something– either thinking “gee, we should have noticed earlier.” and felt awkward saying anything, or thought “well wouldn’t someone have TOLD us if she was pregnant? she is just putting on weight weirdly”. So if you are ready to share the news with the world, ditch the scarves and tell a couple people at work so they can spread the word around. Although I was too nervous to do it, in hindsight I regretted not enjoying being pregnant more– including talking about it at work. PS. how on earth are you still wearing heels??!!!

    Like

    • Nara

      I can so relate to this. I’ve actually felt a bit weird as people congratulated me on the pregnancy when I feel still a bit worried. Also, I’ve been hiding it a bit (well, disguising it) until last week when it was just so hot, and I think people felt similarly! I went out with my friend a couple of weeks ago and when I told her she was like, “Oh, I see it now!” But she hadn’t seen it when I didn’t mention it. So I don’t think it’s that obvious when I try and disguise it!

      Btw do you have a blog? I can’t see which one you’re linked to and I would follow you (or maybe I already do!).

      Like

    • Nara

      Oh and re heels, I need to wear heels as I am a short arse and otherwise would spend most of the time staring at people’s mid sections!

      Like

  9. Maternally Optimistic

    Good for you!! you look amazing, such a cute bump in the new dresses! I am super impressed you are in heels, especially in the heat! I wore heels to a wedding four weeks ago and between the heels and the heat my feet were so swollen that I have sworn off them until after the baby is here!

    Next time someone compliments what you’re wearing just slip it into conversation that you are pregnant and wearing maternity clothes, saves making a big announcement.

    I like T’s offer to help lol I am sure that was more for his benefit than yours lol

    x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Haha. Well I do need the heels otherwise I am soooo short. I work with a lot of men and I am not fond of staring at people’s mid sections! I don’t wear them to walk around in though. I think it’s a London thing or maybe a city thing that people walk to work in different shoes! I have flats for the commute and just wear heels in the office! My feet haven’t been that swollen but I have noticed it a bit. The TOMS are tighter than normal I think!
      Good call about slipping it into conversation. I’ve kind of done that with casual acquaintances. I guess I’ll get more used to it over time. I still sort of worry about it and always feel a bit weird that other people seem more excited than I am! It’s not that I don’t care but more that I worry it might not happen. But it is almost halfway through now! X

      Like

      • Maternally Optimistic

        Yeah I think a lot of people who commute and work in offices do the whole change into heels. I wear trainers to work so I don’t have to worry about that.

        I was very surprised by how happy some people at work were for me, especially people I didn’t know that well. Guess that’s just the effect babies have on people.

        You are almost half way so need to try and be positive, it is going to happen this time!! I know that’s easier said than done but the more you say it to yourself, the easier it might get to believe it and to tell other poeple! xxx

        Like

      • Nara

        Ha! I wish I could wear TOMS into work but not sure they’d go with my work outfits. I think I have a serious TOMS addiction!
        I am surprised when people are happy for pregnant people. I kind of think it’s not that interesting to people who aren’t that person, but it’s nice they’re happy! I do try and tell people that it was a struggle so they don’t think I’m taking it for granted or being smug. I am on way to the hospital for the scan so hopefully all will be well! Xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Maternally Optimistic

        Heels don’t exactly go with the NHS uniform lol
        I’ve never owned a pair, I do really like the pic of the new ones you bought though, might have a look at them.
        I’m sure it will be but I will keep everything crossed for you and look forward to the update 😄 xxx

        Like

  10. sbach1222

    Oh the leg cramps! I have been getting them, but always in the same leg! I woke up screaming one night and had to have B help me work it out. What seems to be helping is bananas! potassium is good for cramps, so I try to have a banana smoothie when it starts acting up. Though last night, my foot (on the same leg) started doing the same thing! I have also been out of bananas and really should go to the grocery store!

    LOVE the dresses! Super cute!

    Like

    • Nara

      Ah it’s not just me then! I do have really bad leg cramps that occasionally wake me up. I’ve found the only way to treat them when they are seizing up is to massage the area with my knuckles, really hard. It does work!
      The other feeling is the “dead leg” feeling which is different. I’ve had that more than the cramps. Really horrible ache! I think it is all circulation related. I have found the pregnancy pillow helped but I still have to lie on my back/on the banned side every now and then as it hurts not to change position. Hope you are well otherwise!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Courtney

    See…. Doesn’t this feel better!? 😉 I LOVE IT!

    Your co-workers are just not asking. There is no way they haven’t noticed. No way. The women are dying to be told so they can talk about childbirth with you. Truly. You’re killing them slowly here. 😉

    I craved oranges and orange juice the whole time with Matthew. I ate orange a lot, 2-3 times a day.

    I love that T is excited!

    Like

    • Nara

      Haha. I know, you’re always right! I’m glad I’m not the only one craving fruit! It’s strange! I haven’t craved pizza once! I mean I’ll eat it if I have to but I’m just not that into it!
      About my coworkers, it’s a strange situation as I work on client site, so my boss and HR know but I work with customers. So I guess I should tell them at some point. I don’t want them to get all worried about coverage though. They are a bit high maintenance at times so get kind of antsy if they think there’s not going to be someone around to deal with their every need! Then again my planned mat leave is really a lot less than usual (a year!). So maybe they’ll be happy about that! It’s the halfway scan today so here’s hoping!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Jein

    Looking great, Nara, and good to hear that you are getting into “the zone”! 🙂

    Oh, the leg cramps… I do remember them… My doctor told me to take magnesium for that, and it did help.

    Like

  13. dreamseggsandsperm

    Wow you look great! And you do look pregnant! 🙂
    Leg cramps is hell I had a lot of them. Bot fun at all, but I hope yours will be better. I was told they get better if you have more potassium (K) so try to have some bananas.The flutter is so cool! I remember that so well. Felt like small butterflies flying around. I am so excited for you!

    Like

Tell us your thoughts...

