The week in pictures (26 weeks)

I was in the US this week for work and have a whole bunch of pictures and have been completely jetlagged since I got back yesterday, so thought I would post the pictures rather than lots of words! (Phew, I hear you exhale with relief!)

London before I left… the commute is nice!


So last year I wrote this post about how I always wished I was the kind of girl who could wear a camel coat. 

Reader, I did it! I bought a camel coat. You know what? I’m the fattest I’ve ever been. My belly now has a pattern of stretch marks. My boobs are another planet. And you know what? I thought f*** it. I’m getting a camel coat. 


This was me in the changing room. On the right is the coat I got from asos – it’s kind of cool but very long maternity coat, and this camel coat is just a camel coat in a size larger than I usually take. It just does up, and I figure it’ll do after pregnancy too. I also bought the cheerful autumn / fall scarf. T says he likes the ensemble but I look like Dr Who! (Which I’ve never watched.) It cheers me up just to wear something I always thought was stylish!

T and I went for date night – we went to the cinema to see Girl on the Train (I hated the book but the film was fine) and for pizza!

I had my 25 week midwife appointment (with the community midwife). It was a bit pointless. I’m so glad I have my amazing midwife at the hospital who’s taking over my care. They said to get vaccinated for whooping cough and flu so I managed to get an appointment the next day. I got the sticker! 

Was actually awful that evening and the days after. My arms really hurt. I had to start taking paracetamol every few hours. It actually made me question whether I can actually take pain… Even T was like, are you sure you want a natural childbirth?! Luckily after a couple of days of pain it wore off. Was really horrible though.

I got a new case to travel with! I randomly took a picture in case they lost it on the plane. Fortunately this didn’t happen, especially fortunate on the way back with it half full of Sephora!

Excellent plane shot. It was a bit hairy coming into Boston though as there was the tail end of Hurricane Matthew so had quite a lot of turbulence. I have flown since I was tiny but the older I get, the more worried I get! The air hostesses were lovely though and kept checking up on me. (Virgin – super nice on way out; nothing on way back!)


The lobby of my first hotel, in Boston. Quite fancy!


Room service on the first night. Those huge things were sliders! In the UK that means mini burgers… In the US, not so much! I was so pleased with the bowl of cream for the hot chocolate! I can’t believe the sliders were meant to be a starter!


On the subject of hotel stays, WTF is wrong with American towels? I thought Americans were on average larger than other people? But they barely fit round me – granted, I’m larger than I normally am but come on, I’m really short and not that big!

I had a hotel breakfast on Columbus day and had the day off – woo hoo. It wasn’t the best breakfast but the bacon was good.


I laughed my head off at this tv ad for Frugal Fannies. Let’s just say “fannies” are something different in the UK!


I went on a Duck tour! Finally! I have never been on the London version despite always thinking I ought to. It was funny. The guy was so high energy, I have no idea how he kept it up for two hours. It was a bit chilly but fun.


Then I went to the mall because SEPHORA. (I also knocked off Barnes & Noble, Starbucks, and Godiva.)

The mothership! It was like my #1 must do in the US with my limited time off. 

This tickled me. Brazilian Bum Bum Cream!

As if I didn’t already love Sephora, you can also take dogs in there. Why don’t I live in the US? (Apart from Trump and whatnot.)

Barnes & Noble. This seemed a bit of a bad idea…

I was impressed they have an actual magazine for diversity. I bought People instead! 😂

Saw the Babyzen Yoyo in a shop… It’s the lightweight one on our shortlist. 

Getting 2 of my 5 a day from Godiva after 2 hours, $300 and a brow class in Sephora!


Saw this and thought maybe not everyone supports Trump. A progressive church!

Was tickled to find out there’s a Boss’s day!


And then it was off to Connecticut for work… I stayed in a pretty crazy hotel room in Stamford. I arrived and there was no room service so I had to make do with my emergency Cheetos and trashy magazines. It had a giant bath-jacuzzi in the bedroom! I made use of it after my doc said not to worry about jacuzzis. (I had a quite cool bath and only put the jets on for a short time!) And I thought the Book of Mormon was just a musical?!


Then it was off to yet another hotel, this time in Hartford, Connecticut. They kinda keep me working. Hotel was nothing to write home about but the food was okay. I was disappointed not to see the famous leaves in New England but managed to catch some out of the window on the way back to the airport. The car I had to drive me around was also kind of fancy!

So I found out only when we got to the airport that the clients were returning on the same flight as I was but in Upper Class… I was in Economy! So they went to the lounge and I hung out and had an airport dinner. T and I had been to Sbarro last time we flew back from Newark so I was happy to see there was one there. Truth be told I was actually glad to have a break from my clients.  Tuesday night the important one (my main stakeholder) got really drunk and said something pretty racist and offensive to me – it was about my baby and was a bit of a shock. I am not ready to go into it on here but it made me not want to spend too much time with her. I’m guessing maybe she can’t even remember, but I can! Anyway I had a fine time in Economy apart from the guy with long legs kicking my seat the whole flight! He even tried to tell me to put my seat back up because he said his legs were long. I was like, I’m 6 months pregnant and you knew your legs were long! There are loads of extra leg room seats but did he book one? Nah. Anyway I slept for a good portion of the flight…


So good to be back home!! I was super jet lagged. I also gave T his present. Amongst other things it’s the first actual things I have bought for B. I saw them in a shop in Boston and couldn’t resist. 


I spent Friday dozing with Dog on the sofa. Did not get much work done although I somehow managed to sound alive for conference calls! Before pregnancy I needed hardly any sleep and after I need loads!

Finally, this week’s bumpies. I really felt like I properly popped out in the US. Maybe it was why I was so tired! B was having a growth spurt! There’s another one after this that looks absolutely mahoosive but I’ll save that for the next compilation!

31 comments

  1. Amy M.

    Sounds like overall things went well. Don’t know what “Fannie” means in your part of the world, but in the title of that store it’s the woman’s name. The outfits you found for the baby are adorable!! Sorry that client said something rude to you…whether or not she remembers doesn’t make it any better. :-/

    Like

    • Nara

      Ha! It means – umm – a lady’s front bottom in the UK! 😂😂
      Yeah I love the outfits! They’re from a shop called Janie & Jack which they don’t have here.
      Yes I can’t believe the client! Such a shock! I suppose it’s a good thing I’m on holiday in a week!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Aww thanks. I couldn’t believe that guy. He actually asked me to put the seat upright again. I don’t get it when people say that as if the seat goes back, I think you’re within your rights to put it back! Anyway he was absolutely gigantic so I don’t understand why he didn’t pay for extra legroom!

      Like

  2. Maternally Optimistic

    They outfits are so adorable!
    Jealous of your Sephora haul, love it in there. Read somewhere they are opening one in London next year, not sure if that’s true xxx

    Like

    • Nara

      Thanks! We have a few outfits now as my mum has bought him three already! Probably much more expensive than the ones I bought! (Baby Armani and Petit Bateau so far!)

      I LOVE Sephora. I can’t believe I spent so long in there. I spent so much I got 3 free gifts, haha! I think it would be weird if there was one in London. I love visiting there but it would sort of become less special I think. There’s one in France! X

      Liked by 1 person

  3. EmilyMaine

    Awwwww you are looking very cute! I can’t believe the client was soooo brazen. It is amazing what comes out when other people get drunk and you need to stay sober. I hope it hasn’t left you feeling too awful. Will you mention it to your work? Anyway aside from that hideous moment it seems the trip was a success : The baby clothes are simply adorable x

    Like

    • Nara

      I know… the weirdest thing is that apparently her dad is half the same ethnicity as me, so that means she’s 1/4 (but looks white). Was so bizarre that she would be so racist. Just not what you expect at work, regardless of how drunk someone is! (I would have noticed even if I was drunk… It was that obvious!)

      Yeah the trip was good! So knackering though… Before pregnancy I hardly needed any sleep and now I need tonnes! Hope you are well! X

      Like

    • Nara

      Thank you! It’s amazing how pleased I am with the coat. Haha! Easily pleased! And it was about half the price of the asos one (although when it gets properly cold I’ll wear that one as it actually covers me!). X

      Like

  4. Cin and Jay

    Yeah food in America is a bit different. Most people don’t usually order appetizers before a meal. We just have the entree. Those are normal slider sizes. Hamburgers are huge here. All potions sizes really are. Glad you had a good trip and are doing well!

    Like

    • Nara

      Hee hee. I couldn’t eat a whole burger I think. I’m glad I only ordered a starter!! Was so delicious! Yeah I had a good trip although pleased to be back as soooo tired! Hope you are well! X

      Liked by 1 person

  5. stealingnectar

    This was such a fun post!!! Those clothing items are super adorable! I love all your photos. You just sound so happy. Pregnancy is bizarre but I am glad you sound like you are having fun with it. Love your camel coat too. Wish I lived closer to your work area! Enjoy getting settled back in at home!

    Like

    • Nara

      Ha. It is a bit crazy I agree! I wonder when I’ll start feeling normal again! I just feel tired a lot of the time, but that’s probably because I don’t go to bed early enough! I’m very happy to be home… Autumn is so nice and cozy!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Aww, I hardly got any time to do anything! Well, I had Columbus day free unexpectedly (as nobody said it was a holiday!) but other than that, stuck in office! I was very happy just to see Sephora! 🙂 Hope you are well! X

      Like

  6. ourgreatestdesire

    Awww man….if I still lived in CT we totally could have met up for dinner. And you were in Stamford which has the original Colony pizza which is my favorite pizza EVER!!!! It would have been awesome to really meet you. Glad you had a safe trip! Btw…did you flip anyone off? LOL

    Like

    • Nara

      Haha no I resisted flipping the bird! 😂
      Shame we didn’t meet up. Although I only got to Stamford at 22:00 so nothing was really happening! I wish I could have had pizza! I was starving! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Tell us your thoughts...

