Inadvertent #NaBloPoMo

So it turns out there’s a whole blogging movement I knew next to nothing about, and by posting for the past couple of days I’ve inadvertently managed to fulfil the criteria. I figured it’s not often I actually fulfil criteria, so I thought I may as well continue (and see if I can keep it up) for the whole of November.

What the heck is NaBloPoMo?

You probably know more about it than I do, but that’s what the internet is for. There’s an answer here which goes some way to explaining it. Apparently it stands for National Blog Posting Month and is a challenge for bloggers to post every day for a month. Now, I don’t think I’ve ever posted every day for a whole month, but right now I have a lot of draft posts and I reckon there’s a vague possibility I might be able to keep it up. I did participate in #100happydays a couple of years ago and found it enjoyable to focus on the happy. (You have to post a picture of something happy every day for 100 days. I made it all the way to 100!) So I figure it’s possible to find something to write every day for 30 days!

Umm no really, why would you do that?

There are actually some prizes involved but they’re only available to Americans (boooo! I’m in the UK) so I don’t really have to do anything other than post a blog post every day and whack this lovely badge on the blog. The prize is my own satisfaction and my readers’ boredom with me! Lucky you!

So what’s your blog all about then?

Hmm, I started my blog Zero to Zygote to document our hopeful journey from childlessness to having a kid. When I started, I thought it would probably just be about IVF, but since then it turns out I have more words than I know what to do with! I guess my main themes I tend to post about are:

  • Infertility and our IVF journey – I am currently 29 weeks pregnant, so this has moved onto Pregnancy After Loss.
  • Adoption and race – I am transracially adopted, so I post stuff that interests me about the intersections of race, adoption, gender (I’m female) and some thoughts I have on adoption. I definitely have thought more about being adopted since starting on our fertility journey.
  • In photos – I really can’t claim to be a photographer, but I do like taking photos of things we’ve done. So sometimes I post photos about stuff as the photos speak more than the words!
  • Random blether – I sometimes come up with random thoughts about life, the universe and everything so I post about those. Sometimes it’s about work, sometimes it’s about gender or race, and sometimes it’s just a bit of a diary.

 

What’s the latest?

Turns out our “zygote” (well, foetus? baby?) is a bit of a chubber so tomorrow morning I have to go and get a glucose tolerance test, which is the test for gestational diabetes. It seems that the NHS starts having suspicions if they think your baby is measuring fat, and so they want to rule out any big issues like diabetes. I’m not overly worried about this, especially as it seems to involve me sitting around doing nothing for two hours (my idea of fun!). But we shall see. My midwife and private doc don’t think it’s likely – my last blood tests were fine except they said I have slight anaemia, so now I have daily iron tablets which seem to have helped with the crashing tiredness (and black poo! Lovely side effect!).

Tonight I have a nice surprise – friends who live overseas are in town and visiting London, so I’m going to meet them for dinner. They know all about our problems and the miscarriage last year and are super happy for us. And they have a very cute kid who I enjoy hanging out with.

Then tomorrow eve we are taking the sleeper train up to Scotland for a friend’s wedding! I am super excited as this is a friend from university who I haven’t seen for years. I think we’ve probably seen each other once or twice since uni, and we were really close then, but now we don’t live nearby at all. It’s a gay wedding, not the first one I’ve been to but I reckon it’ll be the most extravagant! I can’t wait to see them and see my old friend again. I haven’t mentioned being pregnant so that will be another amusing surprise!

So my main thought now is… I wonder how long I can keep up this #NaBloPoMo thing for?!

NaBloPoMo November 2016

16 comments

    • Nara

      Woohoo! I love Scotland. Apart from the weather! Not sure a November wedding will provide the best weather but I will bundle up! It’s very swanky looking venue ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Ha! It’s Latin rather than English. I suppose Americans like to change spellings to make them easier to read/spell! (cf paediatric/pediatric, colour/color, aluminium/aluminum, aubergine/eggplant! 😉)

      Like

  1. Maternally Optimistic

    Please try some irn bru while you are here! And definitely a roll and square sausage for breakfast!! The combination of they two things are my favourite hangover cure. I know you wont be hungover but you should still try it!x

    Like

    • Nara

      Ha! I’m pretty well versed in Scottish customs… I spent a lot of time there! I’ve had more Irn Bru than I probably ever want to have again! But I’m looking forward to the visit – such a beautiful city!

      Like

      • Maternally Optimistic

        haha whereabouts is the wedding?
        I actually love most of the stereotypical foods associated with Scotland. I am really missing Haggis pakora while pregnant!

        Like

      • Nara

        Oh gosh, I can’t remember where (I am sitting at the hospital waiting for glucose to metabolise!) – it’s on my iPad at home and that reminds me, I need to check where it is before we leave for Scotland! 😂 Will let you know when I’ve looked it up!

        Like

      • Maternally Optimistic

        Never heard of it. Did a wee google search there, it does look very fancy!! you will need to take pics of how it’s all decorated for the wedding

        Like

Tell us your thoughts...

