In pictures: Baby shower (30.5 weeks)

Those of you who are regular readers will know that my baby shower did not exactly go to plan… but my best friend went to a lot of trouble to give me an amazing baby shower, so I wanted to share some pictures from the day.

We had the shower in our local pub, with a Christmas theme. (I love Christmas!) There were Christmas crackers, Santa hats and flowers on the tables. And lots of baby boy themed decorations including a banner and scatter confetti. It was so lovely and a great combo of things I love!

My friend had ordered all these personalised things as well, including a goody bag for everyone which had a special chocolate in with my name on, amongst other things. And my bag had a little “wish bracelet” and other goodies like a Mum-to-be rosette. T even had his own bag with little bottles of booze in, for toasting the baby! It was really cute! She had also organised a quiz which we didn’t end up doing (as events overtook us… read previous blogs for details) but I took it home and T did it. He scored 10.5 out of about 50 so think he probably wouldn’t have won, although he enjoyed the “Guess which flavour baby food?” part so much he ate the entire jar! (Plum and Apple, for what it’s worth!)


We had a delicious Christmas dinner. Again, not sure I can look at it in quite the same way again after my mother-in-law’s collapse at the end of it, but it was really nice at the time… This picture doesn’t even show the massive vats of gravy (which is a deal breaker in my book!). People could choose from the Christmas feast menu so not everyone had turkey, but most did!


One really special thing she did was a wishing tree. I love things like this. (She is my best friend and knows me really well so I guess that figures.) It was a snowy light up tree and then everyone at the shower had a blue bauble and wrote wishes and messages for us. It was so sweet and is now in our flat being Christmassy/baby showery!

And as you can see by the tree there were lots of presents! It was amazing. We had quite a few in the post as well. I need to start writing all the thank you cards! I didn’t end up opening them at the shower for obvious reasons, but T and I had a nice time opening them on Sunday night. Here’s a small selection…


So… I would say my baby shower was memorable for the wrong reasons, but hopefully in years to come it will be a positive story. (“Grandma came to your baby shower and had a funny turn, and L saved her and we’re really glad she’s here now!”) What was really lovely was everyone coming together to celebrate and being so lovely and generous towards us.

Over the past few days, B seems to be kicking more and harder – so I’m thinking that means he knows that we were celebrating him and is signalling his own little party there! T read him another chapter of our dog book last night and he was kicking away merrily. I think I’m definitely pregnant!

24 comments

  1. gwenniesgardenworld

    We don’t have baby showers in Belgium, we get presents after the baby is born, family and close friends visit mum in hospital and when baby and mum are home friends and neighbours come to visit during “visiting hours”who are on the birthcard of the baby. Enjoy the rest of your pregnancy !

    Like

    • Nara

      We don’t always have them here. They are kind of an American import! But more and more people are having them now and I wanted to have one to celebrate the fact I never thought I would have a baby. I’m not sure about people visiting afterwards! We would have to tidy the house! 😂

      Like

    • Nara

      Oh that’s great to hear!! It looks really nice! Yes the Christmas dinner was fantastic. Only thing is, they didn’t have cranberry sauce! 😮 Next time I’ll have to bring some from the supermarket! 😂

      Like

    • Nara

      It was fab! And lovely to receive your gifts too! It’s like they were part of the baby shower! ☺️ I’m glad Burt’s Bees gets a good write up. I have only used the lip balms!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Nara

      Yes it’s a relief although we are still wondering what actually happened. They ruled stuff out but didn’t really figure out what it was.
      Yes it was so much fun (apart from MIL getting sick). I think B was getting in on the action!

      Like

  2. Pingback: NaBloPoMo roundup | From zero to zygote

Tell us your thoughts...

