My hair is falling out!

There’s a lot I could write about the slightly shoddy thing that is my post partum body, but the main thing of note is: my hair is falling out!

I’ve always had lots of hair. It’s the kind of hair my ex used to get annoyed about getting everywhere (because of course you can help your hair, right?!). Now we have a dog, my hair on any normal given day is intermingled with his among the general detritus of the house. 

But post partum my hair is just falling out all over the shop. 

I didn’t really worry at first because I have a lot of hair. I’ve always had a lot of hair. 

But lately it’s gotten beyond a joke. I first noticed a few strands were coming out but that was normal. 

Then when I brushed my hair, there was so much on the brush that I had to bin it every time instead of once every few times… but I thought that was because – with a new baby – I didn’t brush my hair as often so it was a bit knotty. 

Anyway in the last few weeks (B is now 22 weeks, 5 months old) my hair has started falling out in clumps. It’s everywhere!

I wonder how much I’ll be left with? I’m sort of hoping I can get by with less hair (as I always had a lot) and/or my hair is regenerating!

Although a friend of mine said hers never recovered after having her two kids…

Of course any amount of bodily discomfort is worth it because I had our miracle baby. And we are so happy being parents! I still thank my lucky stars every single day. Any complaining seems a bit… ungrateful. 

But I really would quite like to still have hair…

19 comments

  1. Amy M.

    I’m like you. Before C I had tons of hair. When I was pregnant, I had more! A few months after she was born, I started shedding like mad. I thought it was going to last forever, but it FINALLY let up a couple weeks ago. I still have plenty left. But just to warn you, it could last for months! It’s normal though, so don’t freak out 🙂

    Like

  2. EmilyMaine

    It will grow back! You should see how much new growth I have at the moment. It’s crazy. Pokes out everywhere to my delight as I’m sure you can imagine. My hair seems to recover no problem after babies, my eyesight however took a permanent dip after both kids.

    Like

    • Nara

      Phew!! Yeah I can’t imagine the regrowth, that’s got to be a bit like B’s regrowth and now he has two lengths of hair! 😂 My eyesight has always been terrible so I don’t think there’s much to be done for that!

      Like

  3. RC

    My eyelashes broke/ fell out. I went to put mascara on them and they were gone. On the plus side, the blonde bumfluff beard I had grew went at the same time.

    Like

  4. c. from indeterminatewait

    The same happened to me. If I hadn’t been warned about it by a friend beforehand, I would have been genuinely worried! It was just massive, drain-clogging clumps for weeks and weeks. It will stop, but the growing back in stage is no fun, a lot of times you get a funny little fringe and bobby pins/head bands will become your new best friends 🙂

    Like

    • Nara

      Yeah I would have worried massively if my friend hadn’t told me! Fortunately she did so I was kind of expecting it. I am not sure I want a fringe… They have never suited me! But I look a bit of a mess now anyway!

      Like

  5. Dani

    Technically you are only losing all the extra hair you grew whilst you were pregnant so you won’t end up with less hair, it’s just that extra hair grows when you are pregnant relating to hormone stuff (hey probably even more so than ‘normal’ pregnant peeps!). So you shouldn’t have less hair than before you were pregnant, the same. Well, so my hairdresser told me. Perhaps your friend was unlucky, but yours should go back to normal after a year or so! I do t know if breastfeeding makes a difference with the hormone thing. Honestly I hated my pregnancy hair and I chopped it off recently, now I regret it but never mind!

    Like

    • Nara

      Ah I knew I could depend on you to explain it! That’s comforting in a way! I did wonder if I had got the extra pregnancy hair that people go on about. I didn’t really notice it but maybe?! I hope that it all nets out and I have the same amount of hair! Not keen on less! 😂 I did have a haircut but T insisted I didn’t cut too much off! I would have gone a bit shorter maybe as it’s soooo stinking hot here!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dani

        Awww the things we do for our partners 😝
        Hope your doing good back at work and getting into the swing of it now!

        Like

      • Nara

        Yeah, back at work (well semi back at work! Working from home a lot!) and first day at nursery today so all change!

        Like

Tell us your thoughts...

