Real Neat Blog Award

on

Well that’s jolly nice! Thank you so much to Sweeping Up The Broken Pieces for this nomination. 🙂

Rules for “The Real Neat Blog Award”:

Put the Award Logo in your post.
Answer the 7 questions asked by the person who nominated you.
Thank the person/people who nominated you and link to their blogs.
Nominate any number of bloggers you like and link to their blogs.
Ask them 7 questions.
Let them know you’ve nominated them with a comment.

In the words of AndthewindscreamsMary (Sweeping Up The Broken Pieces) – because she put it better than I could: I would like to nominate the following bloggers (your questions are at the bottom). I know these types of posts aren’t everyone’s cup of tea, so if you don’t feel comfortable or have no interest then please don’t feel obligated or pressured – no worries! 🙂

Also if you like the questions and you’re not on the list then please answer them! I just picked the first 8 commenters on my Day 53 post!

  1. Arwen @ Our Egg, Her Nest?
  2. Our Greatest Desire
  3. The Sky and Back
  4. Yearning for Motherhood
  5. 30 year old nothing
  6. Try Try Again
  7. Stealing Nectar
  8. Katie @ Praying to be Mommy

Questions for me to answer:

1. What is your favorite memory from high school?

I’m British so I didn’t go to high school – we had “senior school” which is for children rather than old people! 🙂 I’m struggling to remember a favourite memory as I didn’t enjoy school that much. (I was a weird kid, into grunge and stomping around in Doc Martens.) I think probably the friends I made there – I left school almost 20 years ago and I’m still friends with my core group and see them in real life, and I see more via Facebook. My BFF and I have known each other since we were mini and she’s still one of my favourite people in the world. She’s the opposite of me: I’m quite emotionally high maintenance and stroppy and she’s just the most lovely, patient, gets-on-with-everyone person in the world. I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone who doesn’t like her. (They would have to be crazy.) She now lives overseas but we still chat on Whatsapp and we go for spa days and things and it’s really nice to see her. So, memories of that time with good friends are probably the best. The very memorable times were more when we were being naughty which is not something I need to publicise now I’m a grown up! Ahem!

2. Who is your favorite athlete?

Oh gosh, I’m so not a sporting person. I mean I’m terrible at sports. When I was at school I had a crush on Pete Sampras. I think it’s because everyone said mean things about his looks and I thought he was very nice and he won a lot! I really can’t think of many athletes. I was in London for the Olympics in 2012 and we obviously supported Team GB, so Mo Farah, Jess Ennis I guess. As a spectator sport, I recently discovered I love basketball. It’s a bit of a niche sport in the UK which means you can watch it for a cheap price! I’ve been to Wimbledon once where I saw Nadal and Federer from afar. And I like watching gymnastics. But I don’t really have one favourite athlete.

3. When did you know your husband/wife/significant other was “the one?”

I honestly don’t believe in this concept of The One. I think there must be more than one person who might feasibly suit you, and you might feasibly suit them, and then it’s a matter of being single at the right time and being at the right time in your life to want a relationship and speak the same language etc. I’m not one of those people who thinks it’s something magical – I think life in general is a happy accident and it’s just one of those great things, the idea that two people can fall in love.

There’s a bit of mythology around meeting my partner… It’s very identifying so I’m not ready to go into it just yet, but I guess the main point is we both went with it (after coming out of other relationships) and it just sort of clicked straight away. I mean, I saw him the first night and then I saw him a few days later and he never really moved out after that. We had rented an apartment, got a dog, got a joint bank account and been on holiday twice all in the space of 4 months. I think for me after coming out of a long term relationship (marriage) I was not really looking for a new relationship so I was shocked at how easy it was to meld lives with T. He is just super easy going and very tolerant of my foibles and he always knows fun things to do and he’s a very positive person. He’s completely different to anyone else I ever went out with. It’s like when T is there, all my worries go away and I feel secure and happy and loved. It’s a very easy relationship. In the beginning I always worried he was going to hurt me and break my trust. I never found it easy to trust someone in a relationship. But eventually I stopped expecting him to… and so far he never has. He is also very funny and a nice person – everyone likes him. I like nice people. They are very underrated!

4. How best do you relax after a stressful day?

I lie on the sofa and watch terrible TV with T and Dog. Usually T and I sit on separate sofas as we like to stretch out, and Dog goes to sit with T (because he prefers T! annoying animal!) and then I go and grab Dog and make him snuggle next to me as much as possible until he gets annoyed with me and goes back to T, or falls asleep and starts snoring in my face. I think dog licks can cure pretty much everything.

5. If you could star in any TV show which show would it be?

Errrr maybe The Great British Bakeoff! I always get told I should go on it but it sounds horrific because I know people like to rip apart the contestants. I do like baking though. I couldn’t do Masterchef because I don’t like cooking certain things. I’d be rubbish on Survivor or X Factor or Britain’s Got Talent. So maybe I’d have to be in a soap. Friends or SATC? That would be nice!

6. If you auditioned on American Idol what song would you sing?

I’m a terrible singer! It would probably have to be some sort of British favourite like 500 Miles. Although that’s meant to be sung by a man. As I said, I’m terrible at singing!

7. What is your favorite comfort food?

Pizza! Chocolate! Cheese! The 3 key food groups.

 

Questions for bloggers I have nominated:

  1. What’s your favourite book? And if there’s a film of it, did you like the film?
  2. How old were you when you had your first boyfriend/girlfriend and how long did you go out for? When did you finish? Or are you still with them?
  3. What’s your biggest regret? Or do you have none?
  4. If you had to wear one outfit for the rest of your life, what would it be?
  5. Apart from your partner, who is your favourite person in the world?
  6. Are you a dog person or a cat person? Or both? Or none?
  7. When did you first start blogging and what was it about?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Arwen says:

    Thanks! I love reading these. My three key food groups are identical. Well except maybe wine would have to feature too…
    I am terrible at remembering to do these but I will try and get to it!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I second the four key food groups! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    2. Nara says:

      My gosh, how could I have forgotten about wine?! (Well, I count it as a drink group rather than a food group!)

      Like

  2. Thank you for the nomination! That is so sweet of you! I am away for the weekend and have done a write up on this award recently, but I will try to come back to your questions and share them with you when I return! I love learning more about my fellow bloggers! I am so excited for your pregnancy and looking forward to celebrating your journey along the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nara says:

    Ah thanks guys! I do think these Q&As are funny and I like the random things you find out about people. Also I am quite a naughty blogger and I don’t often go that far back on people’s posts (because some of them go back YEARS) unless I have an overwhelming desire to stalk their lives and/or find out more about them. I mean, if someone’s blogging every other day for 5 years then stuff they said 5 years ago will seem like ancient history! But I do it every now and then! I hope that you have a great weekend! 🙂

    Like

  4. Love your answers and thank you for the nomination! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Tell us your thoughts...